# Cis Gworkspace 3.1.2.1.1.1

> Ensure users are warned when they share a file outside their domain

- Skill: `cyberstrikeus/cis-gworkspace-3-1-2-1-1-1` (Agent Skill)
- Install (CLI): `npx skillmds@latest add cyberstrikeus/cis-gworkspace-3-1-2-1-1-1`
- Raw SKILL.md: https://api.skillmd.com/api/skills/cyberstrikeus/cis-gworkspace-3-1-2-1-1-1/raw
- Safety review: PASS (external: skill-scanner PASS, skillspector PASS)
- Works with: Claude Code, Claude.ai, OpenAI Codex
- Category: Coding & Dev Tools
- Author: cyberstrikeus (https://skillmd.com/u/cyberstrikeus)
- Updated: 2026-09-17
- Page: https://skillmd.com/skills/cyberstrikeus/cis-gworkspace-3-1-2-1-1-1

---


# 3.1.2.1.1.1 Ensure users are warned when they share a file outside their domain

## Level

L1

## Profile Applicability

- Enterprise Level 1

## Type

Manual

## Description

Warn the user when they try and share a file and/or shared drive externally.

## Rationale

The user may not realize the potential account is external to the organization. Providing a warning allows the user an opportunity to know this and possibly reassess this sharing.

## Impact

None, except an additional warning. Sharing can still occur.

## Audit

To verify this setting via the Google Workspace Admin Console:

1. Log in to `https://admin.google.com` as an administrator
2. Select `Apps`
3. Select `Drive and Docs`
4. Select `Sharing Settings`
5. Select `Sharing Options`
6. Under `Sharing outside of <Company>`
7. Ensure `ON - Files owned by users in <Company> can be shared outside of <Company>. This applies to files in all shared drives as well.` is `checked`. Also, ensure the sub-setting `For files owned by users in <Company> warn when sharing outside of <Company>` is `checked`.

## Remediation

To configure this setting via the Google Workspace Admin Console:

1. Log in to `https://admin.google.com` as an administrator
2. Select `Apps`
3. Select `Drive and Docs`
4. Select `Sharing Settings`
5. Select `Sharing Options`
6. Under `Sharing outside of <Company>`
7. Set `ON - Files owned by users in <Company> can be shared outside of <Company>. This applies to files in all shared drives as well.` to `checked`. Also, set the sub-setting `For files owned by users in <Company> warn when sharing outside of <Company>` to `checked`.
8. Select `Save`

## Default Value

`For files owned by users in <Company> warn when sharing outside of <Company>` is `checked`

## CIS Controls

| Controls Version | Control                                                                         | IG 1 | IG 2 | IG 3 |
| ---------------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---- | ---- | ---- |
| v8               | 4.8 Uninstall or Disable Unnecessary Services on Enterprise Assets and Software |      | x    | x    |
| v7               | 9.2 Ensure Only Approved Ports, Protocols and Services Are Running              |      | x    | x    |

