# Cis Gworkspace 3.1.2.1.1.6

> Ensure only users inside your organization can distribute content externally

- Skill: `cyberstrikeus/cis-gworkspace-3-1-2-1-1-6` (Agent Skill)
- Install (CLI): `npx skillmds@latest add cyberstrikeus/cis-gworkspace-3-1-2-1-1-6`
- Raw SKILL.md: https://api.skillmd.com/api/skills/cyberstrikeus/cis-gworkspace-3-1-2-1-1-6/raw
- Safety review: PASS (external: skill-scanner PASS, skillspector PASS)
- Works with: Claude Code, Claude.ai, OpenAI Codex
- Category: Coding & Dev Tools
- Author: cyberstrikeus (https://skillmd.com/u/cyberstrikeus)
- Updated: 2026-09-17
- Page: https://skillmd.com/skills/cyberstrikeus/cis-gworkspace-3-1-2-1-1-6

---


# 3.1.2.1.1.6 Ensure only users inside your organization can distribute content externally

## Level

L1

## Profile Applicability

- Enterprise Level 1

## Type

Manual

## Description

You should control who is allowed to distribute organizational content to shared drives owned by another organization.

## Rationale

Sharing and collaboration are key; however, only your users should have the authority over where company content is shared with to prevent unauthorized disclosures of information.

## Impact

Only people in your organization with Manager access to a shared drive can move files from that shared drive to a Drive location in a different organization.

In addition, users in the selected organizational unit or group can copy content from their My Drive to a shared drive owned by a different organization.

## Audit

To verify this setting via the Google Workspace Admin Console:

1. Log in to `https://admin.google.com` as an administrator
2. Select `Apps`
3. Select `Google Workspace`
4. Select `Drive and Docs`
5. Under `Sharing settings`, select `Sharing options`
6. Under `Distributing content outside of <Company>`, ensure `Only users in <Company>` is `selected`

## Remediation

To configure this setting via the Google Workspace Admin Console:

1. Log in to `https://admin.google.com` as an administrator
2. Select `Apps`
3. Select `Google Workspace`
4. Select `Drive and Docs`
5. Under `Sharing settings`, select `Sharing options`
6. Under `Distributing content outside of <Company>`, select `Only users in <Company>`
7. Select `Save`

## Default Value

`Distributing content outside of <Company>` is `Anyone`

## CIS Controls

| Controls Version | Control                                               | IG 1 | IG 2 | IG 3 |
| ---------------- | ----------------------------------------------------- | ---- | ---- | ---- |
| v8               | 3.3 Configure Data Access Control Lists               | x    | x    | x    |
| v7               | 14.6 Protect Information through Access Control Lists | x    | x    | x    |

