3.1.2.1.1.6 Ensure only users inside your organization can distribute content externally
Level
L1
Profile Applicability
- Enterprise Level 1
Type
Manual
Description
You should control who is allowed to distribute organizational content to shared drives owned by another organization.
Rationale
Sharing and collaboration are key; however, only your users should have the authority over where company content is shared with to prevent unauthorized disclosures of information.
Impact
Only people in your organization with Manager access to a shared drive can move files from that shared drive to a Drive location in a different organization.
In addition, users in the selected organizational unit or group can copy content from their My Drive to a shared drive owned by a different organization.
Audit
To verify this setting via the Google Workspace Admin Console:
- Log in to
https://admin.google.comas an administrator - Select
Apps - Select
Google Workspace - Select
Drive and Docs - Under
Sharing settings, selectSharing options - Under
Distributing content outside of <Company>, ensureOnly users in <Company>isselected
Remediation
To configure this setting via the Google Workspace Admin Console:
- Log in to
https://admin.google.comas an administrator - Select
Apps - Select
Google Workspace - Select
Drive and Docs - Under
Sharing settings, selectSharing options - Under
Distributing content outside of <Company>, selectOnly users in <Company> - Select
Save
Default Value
Distributing content outside of <Company> is Anyone
CIS Controls
| Controls Version | Control | IG 1 | IG 2 | IG 3 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| v8 | 3.3 Configure Data Access Control Lists | x | x | x |
| v7 | 14.6 Protect Information through Access Control Lists | x | x | x |