Morocco — Auto-Entrepreneur Regime (Statut de l'Auto-Entrepreneur)
General reference only. This skill is general tax/accounting reference material for AI-assisted workflows. It has not been reviewed for any specific person's facts, documents, elections, deadlines, residency, filing status, or local procedures. Do not rely on it to file, pay, amend, or take a tax position without review by a qualified professional in the relevant jurisdiction.
The auto-entrepreneur (AE) status is Morocco's flagship simplified regime for
freelancers, sole traders, and micro-businesses. It replaces ordinary income-tax
accounting with a single impôt libératoire computed as a flat percentage of
turnover actually collected (chiffre d'affaires encaissé), bundles a dedicated
social-cover scheme (CNSS / AMO), and is administered through the national
register RNAE (Registre National de l'Auto-Entrepreneur). It is governed by
Loi n° 114-13 and Articles 42 bis, 42 ter, 43, 44-II and 73-III of the
Code Général des Impôts (CGI).
This skill replies in the user's language. Moroccan users mix English, French, and
Darija — keep the native terms (auto-entrepreneur, IR, CNSS, AMO, DGI, RNAE) and
explain them in the user's chosen language.
1. Quick Reference
| Field |
Value |
| Country |
Morocco (MA) |
| Regime |
Auto-entrepreneur (statut de l'auto-entrepreneur) — impôt libératoire on turnover |
| Currency |
MAD (dirham marocain, DH) |
| Turnover ceiling — commercial / industrial / artisanal |
MAD 500,000 / year (verify current value) |
| Turnover ceiling — services (prestations de services) |
MAD 200,000 / year (verify current value) |
| IR rate — commercial / industrial / artisanal |
0.5% of collected turnover (verify current value) |
| IR rate — services |
1% of collected turnover (verify current value) |
| Single-client anti-disguised-salary rule |
Amounts > MAD 80,000 / year from one client (services) → client withholds 30% at source on the excess, liberatory (verify rate) |
| Tax base |
Turnover collected, no deduction of expenses |
| Authority |
Direction Générale des Impôts (DGI) — tax.gov.ma |
| Register / portal |
RNAE via Poste Maroc / Al Barid Bank — rn.ae.gov.ma (a.k.a. ae.gov.ma) |
| Social cover |
Dedicated CNSS / AMO scheme, mandatory since décret 2.21.477 (2021) |
| Filing & payment |
Quarterly, online, including nil (néant) declarations |
| Primary legislation |
Loi 114-13; CGI Art. 42 bis, 42 ter, 43, 44-II, 73-III |
| Contributor |
Open Accountants Community |
| Quality tier |
Research-verified — pending sign-off by a Moroccan accountant (expert-comptable) |
| Version |
1.0 |
| Last research update |
May 2026 |
Conservative defaults
When data is missing or ambiguous, the agent applies the conservative default
and flags it for the reviewer:
- Activity mix unknown → treat the activity as services (1%), the higher
rate, until the user confirms it is commercial/industrial/artisanal (0.5%).
- Turnover near a ceiling → assume the ceiling is breached and warn about
exit consequences rather than assume continued eligibility.
- Single-client revenue near MAD 80,000 → assume the 30% withholding on the
excess applies, and tell the user to confirm with the paying client.
- Eligibility uncertain (possible regulated profession) → assume the activity
is excluded and route to
ma-cpu / ma-income-tax until confirmed.
- 2026 figures → all rates and ceilings carry "verify current value"; check the
Loi de Finances 2026 and the DGI before finalising any number.
2. Eligibility & Excluded Activities
Who can opt in
- Resident physical persons (individuals) carrying on an industrial,
commercial, artisanal, or service activity on their own account.
- Annual turnover within the ceilings above.
- Registered in the RNAE and holding the AE card.
A person may combine activities (e.g. commerce + services) provided each branch
stays under its own ceiling and neither branch exceeds its limit — see §3 for
the combined-activity test.
Excluded activities (professions réglementées and others)
The AE status is not available to regulated/liberal professions and a list
of other activities, including (non-exhaustive — confirm against the regulatory
list):
- Liberal professions: lawyers (avocats), notaries (notaires), doctors and
health professionals (médecins, dentistes, pharmaciens), chartered accountants
/ experts-comptables, architects, engineers in regulated practice, court
officers (huissiers, adouls), etc.
- Financial / insurance intermediation.
- Real-estate development (promotion immobilière).
- Regulated transport operators.
- Activities subject to special licensing or excise (e.g. tobacco, alcohol).
Default rule: if there is any doubt that the activity is a regulated
profession, treat it as excluded and route the user to ma-cpu
(Contribution Professionnelle Unique) or ma-income-tax (régime du résultat net
simplifié / réel). Do not assert eligibility for a borderline profession.
3. Rates & Computation
Turnover bands and liberatory IR
Tax is a flat percentage of turnover actually collected during the period —
no expense deduction. The tax is libératoire: it discharges the AE's income
tax on that activity, so AE turnover is not re-entered on the progressive IR
scale and no annual global IR return is filed for the AE activity.
| Activity |
Annual ceiling |
IR rate on collected turnover |
| Commercial / industrial / artisanal |
MAD 500,000 (verify) |
0.5% (verify) |
| Services (prestations de services) |
MAD 200,000 (verify) |
1% (verify) |
Formula:
IR libératoire = turnover collected in the quarter × rate (0.5% or 1%)
Some sources reference a small supplementary/professional duty layered on
top of the base rate in certain brackets. Treat any add-on as "verify current
value against the DGI auto-entrepreneur guide / Loi de Finances 2026" before
using it in a computation.
Combined activities
If a user runs both a commercial and a service branch, apply each rate to its own
turnover and check each branch against its own ceiling. Breaching either
ceiling triggers the exit rule in §5.
The single-client > MAD 80,000 rule (anti-salary-disguise)
To stop employers re-labelling employees as auto-entrepreneurs, the law caps how
much an AE may bill one single client:
- For services, when annual revenue from one client exceeds MAD 80,000,
the excess above 80,000 is not taxed at the 1% liberatory rate.
- Instead the paying client withholds tax at source at 30% (verify rate —
historically 30%, per CGI Art. 73) on the excess, and this withholding is
liberatory for that excess.
Formula (per client, per year):
Taxed at 1% liberatory = min(client revenue, 80,000)
Subject to 30% withholding = max(client revenue − 80,000, 0)
30% withholding (by client) = max(client revenue − 80,000, 0) × 30% (verify rate)
Practical effect: an AE doing essentially full-time work for one company gets
pushed toward an employee-like 30% rate on the excess. If a user's revenue is
concentrated in one client, flag both the tax consequence and the labour-law
risk of disguised employment (requalification en contrat de travail).
4. Social Cover (CNSS / AMO for Auto-Entrepreneurs)
Since décret n° 2.21.477 (2021) and the généralisation of AMO (Assurance
Maladie Obligatoire) to non-salaried workers (TNS), CNSS affiliation is
mandatory for every auto-entrepreneur.
What it covers
- AMO — mandatory health insurance: medical costs, hospitalisation, medicines,
for the AE, spouse, and children.
- Basic retirement (retraite de base).
- Daily allowances for maternity / temporary incapacity, subject to
contribution conditions.
How contributions are computed
Contributions are forfaitaires (flat-rate by bracket), based on declared
turnover, and collected quarterly alongside the tax through the AE portal.
- The CNSS scheme uses fixed brackets T1 to T8; declared (annualised) turnover
places the AE in a bracket, each with a set contribution amount (verify the
current T1–T8 amounts on cnss.ma / ae.gov.ma — not consistently published).
- A minimum contribution applies even with zero turnover — historically
~MAD 300 / quarter (≈ MAD 1,200 / year) (verify current value).
- Commonly cited bases: services ≈ 50% of turnover, commercial ≈ 20% of
turnover used to set the bracket (verify — methodology varies by source).
Default: when the exact bracket amount is unknown, quote the minimum
~MAD 300/quarter floor and tell the user the precise figure must be read off the
CNSS / ae.gov.ma bracket table for their declared turnover. Do not invent a
T1–T8 amount.
5. Registration & Filing / Payment Calendar
Registration (RNAE)
- Apply on
rn.ae.gov.ma (the RNAE portal, run by Poste Maroc / Al Barid
Bank) or at a Barid Bank branch.
- Provide CIN (national ID), activity, and address; registration is free.
- Processing typically 7–15 days; you receive the auto-entrepreneur card
and a tax identifier.
- CNSS affiliation is created alongside registration.
Filing & payment (quarterly)
Declaration and payment are quarterly, online, and nil declarations
(déclaration néant) are still required when there is no turnover.
| Quarter |
Period |
Declare & pay by (verify exact dates each year) |
| Q1 |
Jan–Mar |
end of April |
| Q2 |
Apr–Jun |
end of July |
| Q3 |
Jul–Sep |
end of October |
| Q4 |
Oct–Dec |
end of January (following year) |
Payment is online (carte bancaire, virement, réseaux agréés). The CNSS
contribution is collected at the same time as the tax.
Missing a declaration (including a nil one) or a payment risks penalties and,
ultimately, radiation from the RNAE. Confirm exact deadlines for 2026 on
ae.gov.ma.
6. Worked Examples
All figures use the 2026 rates/ceilings flagged "verify". Recompute with confirmed
values before relying on them.
Example 1 — Service freelancer, multiple clients
Sara is a freelance web developer (services). 2026 collected turnover MAD
150,000, spread across 5 clients (largest single client MAD 45,000).
- Within the services ceiling (200,000). Eligible.
- No client exceeds 80,000 → no 30% withholding.
- IR = 150,000 × 1% = MAD 1,500 for the year.
- Plus CNSS quarterly contributions per her turnover bracket (verify amount).
Example 2 — Services with one dominant client (>80k rule)
Youssef does design work; 2026 turnover MAD 120,000, of which MAD 100,000
from a single agency and MAD 20,000 from others.
- Within ceiling (200,000). Eligible.
- Single client = 100,000 > 80,000 → excess = 20,000.
- First 80,000 from that client + the 20,000 from other clients = 100,000 at
1% → MAD 1,000.
- Excess 20,000 × 30% = MAD 6,000 withheld at source by the agency (verify
rate), liberatory on that slice.
- Total tax ≈ MAD 7,000. Flag the disguised-employment risk given the
concentration.
Example 3 — Commercial activity at the lower rate
Khadija resells handmade goods (commercial/artisanal). 2026 collected turnover
MAD 400,000.
- Within commercial ceiling (500,000). Eligible.
- IR = 400,000 × 0.5% = MAD 2,000 for the year.
- Plus CNSS quarterly contributions per bracket (verify).
Example 4 — Ceiling breach → exit
Omar (services) collects MAD 230,000 in 2026, exceeding the 200,000 services
ceiling.
- One year over is tolerated; the AE is generally radiated only if the
ceiling is exceeded two consecutive years (verify the current grace rule).
- On exit, Omar moves to
ma-cpu (CPU) or the ma-income-tax régimes
(résultat net simplifié / réel) and ordinary IR/TVA obligations may begin.
- Action: model the post-exit position with
ma-cpu and ma-income-tax and advise
on TVA registration thresholds.
7. Tier 2 — Reviewer Judgement Required
Escalate to the Moroccan expert-comptable reviewer when:
- Single-client concentration suggests disguised employment (labour-law
requalification risk beyond the 30% tax point).
- Ceiling breach in the current or prior year — exit mechanics, CPU vs net-income
routing, and TVA registration.
- Borderline excluded activity (possible regulated profession) — eligibility call.
- Combined activities straddling both ceilings.
- CNSS bracket / AMO entitlement disputes or arrears.
- VAT (TVA) interaction — AE turnover is generally outside ordinary TVA, but
confirm against the TVA thresholds (see
morocco-vat) if activity is borderline.
- Any client-specific number where the agent had to fall back to a "verify" value.
The agent must never present these as settled; it presents the computation, the
assumptions, and the open items for the reviewer to sign off.
8. Reference
Legal references
- Loi n° 114-13 relative au statut de l'auto-entrepreneur (19 February 2015).
- Code Général des Impôts (CGI) — Art. 42 bis, 42 ter (regime &
conditions), 43, 44-II (turnover ceilings / base), 73-III (rates,
including the single-client withholding).
- Décret n° 2.21.477 (2021) — mandatory CNSS / AMO affiliation for
auto-entrepreneurs (généralisation AMO to TNS).
- Loi de Finances 2026 — confirm current rates, ceilings, and any add-on
duty; 2025 IR reform context: the ordinary IR scale was reformed (exempt
band raised to MAD 40,000, top rate reduced to 37%), which is the
fallback regime if an AE exits.
- Authority: Direction Générale des Impôts (DGI) — tax.gov.ma. Register:
RNAE — rn.ae.gov.ma (Poste Maroc / Al Barid Bank). Social: CNSS —
cnss.ma.
Short test suite
- Q: Service freelancer, MAD 90,000 turnover, no client over 80k. A: IR =
90,000 × 1% = MAD 900; within ceiling; CNSS per bracket.
- Q: Commercial AE, MAD 600,000 turnover. A: Ceiling breached
(>500,000) — flag exit, route to
ma-cpu / ma-income-tax.
- Q: Services AE, single client pays MAD 130,000. A: 80,000 at 1% (MAD
800); 50,000 × 30% = MAD 15,000 withheld by client (verify rate); flag
disguised-employment risk.
- Q: Doctor wants AE status. A: Excluded (regulated profession) —
route to
ma-income-tax.
- Q: Zero turnover this quarter. A: Still file a déclaration néant;
minimum CNSS (~MAD 300/quarter, verify) still due.
- Q: Activity mix not stated. A: Default to services / 1% and the
200,000 ceiling until confirmed.
PROHIBITIONS
- Do NOT confirm eligibility for any regulated/liberal profession (lawyer,
doctor, notary, expert-comptable, architect, etc.) — default to excluded.
- Do NOT apply the AE liberatory rates to turnover above a ceiling — once
breached, the regime no longer applies; route to
ma-cpu / ma-income-tax.
- Do NOT ignore the single-client > MAD 80,000 rule for services — apply the
30% withholding on the excess (verify rate) and flag disguised-employment risk.
- Do NOT deduct business expenses — the base is turnover collected, gross.
- Do NOT invent CNSS T1–T8 bracket amounts — quote the minimum floor and
send the user to cnss.ma / ae.gov.ma for the exact figure.
- Do NOT state any rate, ceiling, or deadline as final without the "verify
current value" caveat against the Loi de Finances 2026 and the DGI.
- Do NOT advise on TVA, employees/payroll, multi-state, or company forms
(SARL/SA) under this skill — route to the relevant skill.
- Do NOT issue a return as filed without expert-comptable sign-off.
Disclaimer
This skill is research-verified against public sources (DGI / tax.gov.ma, the
auto-entrepreneur portal ae.gov.ma, PwC Worldwide Tax Summaries, and reporting on
the Loi de Finances 2025/2026) as of May 2026. It is YMYL content and is
pending sign-off by a Moroccan accountant (expert-comptable). Rates, ceilings,
CNSS bracket amounts, and deadlines change with each Loi de Finances and must be
re-verified before use. Nothing here is a substitute for advice from a licensed
Moroccan expert-comptable or the DGI. Part of openaccountants.com — open-source
tax skills for the self-employed.
Source: OpenAccountants — open tax Guides for AI, reviewed by named CPAs/CAs/EAs. Quality: source-cited draft. For always-current figures and named-accountant backing, connect the OpenAccountants MCP server (openaccountants-mcp).
1---2name: ma-auto-entrepreneur3description: > Use this skill whenever asked about Morocco's auto-entrepreneur regime — the simplified turnover-based tax and social-cover status for freelancers and micro-businesses. Trigger on phrases like "auto-entrepreneur Maroc", "Morocco freelancer tax", "régime auto-entrepreneur", "micro business Morocco tax", "RNAE", "statut auto-entrepreneur", "تاجر ذاتي", "freelance Maroc impôt". Covers turnover ceilings, the 0.5%/1% liberatory IR, the single-client 80,000 MAD anti-disguised-salary withholding, dedicated CNSS/AMO cover, registration via the RNAE (Poste Maroc / ae.gov.ma), excluded regulated professions, and exit on ceiling breach. Reply in the user's language (English, French, or Moroccan Arabic / Darija). Cross-reference ma-cpu and ma-income-tax for alternatives.4license: AGPL-3.0-or-later (code) / OpenAccountants Guide License v1.0 (c5---67# Morocco — Auto-Entrepreneur Regime (Statut de l'Auto-Entrepreneur)89> **General reference only.** This skill is general tax/accounting reference material for AI-assisted workflows. It has not been reviewed for any specific person's facts, documents, elections, deadlines, residency, filing status, or local procedures. Do not rely on it to file, pay, amend, or take a tax position without review by a qualified professional in the relevant jurisdiction.1011The **auto-entrepreneur** (AE) status is Morocco's flagship simplified regime for12freelancers, sole traders, and micro-businesses. It replaces ordinary income-tax13accounting with a single **impôt libératoire** computed as a flat percentage of14**turnover actually collected** (chiffre d'affaires encaissé), bundles a dedicated15social-cover scheme (**CNSS / AMO**), and is administered through the national16register **RNAE** (Registre National de l'Auto-Entrepreneur). It is governed by17**Loi n° 114-13** and Articles **42 bis, 42 ter, 43, 44-II and 73-III** of the18**Code Général des Impôts (CGI)**.1920This skill replies in the user's language. Moroccan users mix English, French, and21Darija — keep the native terms (auto-entrepreneur, IR, CNSS, AMO, DGI, RNAE) and22explain them in the user's chosen language.2324---2526## 1. Quick Reference2728| Field | Value |29|---|---|30| Country | Morocco (MA) |31| Regime | Auto-entrepreneur (statut de l'auto-entrepreneur) — impôt libératoire on turnover |32| Currency | MAD (dirham marocain, DH) |33| Turnover ceiling — commercial / industrial / artisanal | **MAD 500,000 / year** *(verify current value)* |34| Turnover ceiling — services (prestations de services) | **MAD 200,000 / year** *(verify current value)* |35| IR rate — commercial / industrial / artisanal | **0.5% of collected turnover** *(verify current value)* |36| IR rate — services | **1% of collected turnover** *(verify current value)* |37| Single-client anti-disguised-salary rule | Amounts > **MAD 80,000 / year** from one client (services) → client withholds **30%** at source on the excess, liberatory *(verify rate)* |38| Tax base | Turnover **collected**, no deduction of expenses |39| Authority | **Direction Générale des Impôts (DGI)** — tax.gov.ma |40| Register / portal | **RNAE** via Poste Maroc / Al Barid Bank — `rn.ae.gov.ma` (a.k.a. ae.gov.ma) |41| Social cover | Dedicated **CNSS / AMO** scheme, mandatory since décret 2.21.477 (2021) |42| Filing & payment | **Quarterly**, online, including nil (néant) declarations |43| Primary legislation | Loi 114-13; CGI Art. 42 bis, 42 ter, 43, 44-II, 73-III |44| Contributor | Open Accountants Community |45| Quality tier | **Research-verified — pending sign-off by a Moroccan accountant (expert-comptable)** |46| Version | 1.0 |47| Last research update | May 2026 |4849### Conservative defaults5051When data is missing or ambiguous, the agent applies the **conservative default**52and flags it for the reviewer:5354- **Activity mix unknown** → treat the activity as **services (1%)**, the higher55 rate, until the user confirms it is commercial/industrial/artisanal (0.5%).56- **Turnover near a ceiling** → assume the ceiling is **breached** and warn about57 exit consequences rather than assume continued eligibility.58- **Single-client revenue near MAD 80,000** → assume the **30% withholding** on the59 excess applies, and tell the user to confirm with the paying client.60- **Eligibility uncertain (possible regulated profession)** → assume the activity61 is **excluded** and route to `ma-cpu` / `ma-income-tax` until confirmed.62- **2026 figures** → all rates and ceilings carry "verify current value"; check the63 **Loi de Finances 2026** and the DGI before finalising any number.6465---6667## 2. Eligibility & Excluded Activities6869### Who can opt in7071- Resident **physical persons** (individuals) carrying on an **industrial,72 commercial, artisanal, or service** activity on their own account.73- Annual turnover within the ceilings above.74- Registered in the **RNAE** and holding the AE card.7576A person may combine activities (e.g. commerce + services) **provided each branch77stays under its own ceiling** and **neither branch exceeds its limit** — see §3 for78the combined-activity test.7980### Excluded activities (professions réglementées and others)8182The AE status is **not available** to **regulated/liberal professions** and a list83of other activities, including (non-exhaustive — confirm against the regulatory84list):8586- **Liberal professions:** lawyers (avocats), notaries (notaires), doctors and87 health professionals (médecins, dentistes, pharmaciens), chartered accountants88 / experts-comptables, architects, engineers in regulated practice, court89 officers (huissiers, adouls), etc.90- **Financial / insurance** intermediation.91- **Real-estate development** (promotion immobilière).92- **Regulated transport** operators.93- Activities subject to **special licensing or excise** (e.g. tobacco, alcohol).9495> **Default rule:** if there is *any* doubt that the activity is a regulated96> profession, treat it as **excluded** and route the user to `ma-cpu`97> (Contribution Professionnelle Unique) or `ma-income-tax` (régime du résultat net98> simplifié / réel). Do **not** assert eligibility for a borderline profession.99100---101102## 3. Rates & Computation103104### Turnover bands and liberatory IR105106Tax is a flat percentage of **turnover actually collected** during the period —107**no expense deduction**. The tax is **libératoire**: it discharges the AE's income108tax on that activity, so AE turnover is **not** re-entered on the progressive IR109scale and **no annual global IR return** is filed for the AE activity.110111| Activity | Annual ceiling | IR rate on collected turnover |112|---|---|---|113| Commercial / industrial / artisanal | MAD 500,000 *(verify)* | **0.5%** *(verify)* |114| Services (prestations de services) | MAD 200,000 *(verify)* | **1%** *(verify)* |115116**Formula:**117118```119IR libératoire = turnover collected in the quarter × rate (0.5% or 1%)120```121122> Some sources reference a small **supplementary/professional duty** layered on123> top of the base rate in certain brackets. Treat any add-on as **"verify current124> value against the DGI auto-entrepreneur guide / Loi de Finances 2026"** before125> using it in a computation.126127### Combined activities128129If a user runs both a commercial and a service branch, apply **each rate to its own130turnover** and check **each branch against its own ceiling**. Breaching **either**131ceiling triggers the exit rule in §5.132133### The single-client > MAD 80,000 rule (anti-salary-disguise)134135To stop employers re-labelling employees as auto-entrepreneurs, the law caps how136much an AE may bill **one single client**:137138- For **services**, when annual revenue from **one client** exceeds **MAD 80,000**,139 the **excess above 80,000** is **not** taxed at the 1% liberatory rate.140- Instead the **paying client withholds tax at source at 30%** *(verify rate —141 historically 30%, per CGI Art. 73)* on the excess, and this withholding is142 **liberatory** for that excess.143144**Formula (per client, per year):**145146```147Taxed at 1% liberatory = min(client revenue, 80,000)148Subject to 30% withholding = max(client revenue − 80,000, 0)14930% withholding (by client) = max(client revenue − 80,000, 0) × 30% (verify rate)150```151152> Practical effect: an AE doing essentially full-time work for **one** company gets153> pushed toward an employee-like 30% rate on the excess. If a user's revenue is154> concentrated in one client, flag both the **tax** consequence and the **labour-law155> risk** of disguised employment (requalification en contrat de travail).156157---158159## 4. Social Cover (CNSS / AMO for Auto-Entrepreneurs)160161Since **décret n° 2.21.477 (2021)** and the généralisation of **AMO** (Assurance162Maladie Obligatoire) to non-salaried workers (**TNS**), CNSS affiliation is163**mandatory** for every auto-entrepreneur.164165### What it covers166167- **AMO** — mandatory health insurance: medical costs, hospitalisation, medicines,168 for the AE, spouse, and children.169- **Basic retirement** (retraite de base).170- **Daily allowances** for maternity / temporary incapacity, subject to171 contribution conditions.172173### How contributions are computed174175Contributions are **forfaitaires** (flat-rate by bracket), **based on declared176turnover**, and **collected quarterly alongside the tax** through the AE portal.177178- The CNSS scheme uses **fixed brackets T1 to T8**; declared (annualised) turnover179 places the AE in a bracket, each with a **set contribution amount** *(verify the180 current T1–T8 amounts on cnss.ma / ae.gov.ma — not consistently published)*.181- A **minimum** contribution applies even with **zero turnover** — historically182 **~MAD 300 / quarter (≈ MAD 1,200 / year)** *(verify current value)*.183- Commonly cited bases: services ≈ **50% of turnover**, commercial ≈ **20% of184 turnover** used to set the bracket *(verify — methodology varies by source)*.185186> **Default:** when the exact bracket amount is unknown, quote the **minimum187> ~MAD 300/quarter** floor and tell the user the precise figure must be read off the188> **CNSS / ae.gov.ma** bracket table for their declared turnover. Do **not** invent a189> T1–T8 amount.190191---192193## 5. Registration & Filing / Payment Calendar194195### Registration (RNAE)1961971. Apply on **`rn.ae.gov.ma`** (the RNAE portal, run by **Poste Maroc / Al Barid198 Bank**) or at a **Barid Bank** branch.1992. Provide CIN (national ID), activity, and address; registration is **free**.2003. Processing typically **7–15 days**; you receive the **auto-entrepreneur card**201 and a tax identifier.2024. CNSS affiliation is created alongside registration.203204### Filing & payment (quarterly)205206Declaration and payment are **quarterly**, **online**, and **nil declarations207(déclaration néant) are still required** when there is no turnover.208209| Quarter | Period | Declare & pay by *(verify exact dates each year)* |210|---|---|---|211| Q1 | Jan–Mar | end of **April** |212| Q2 | Apr–Jun | end of **July** |213| Q3 | Jul–Sep | end of **October** |214| Q4 | Oct–Dec | end of **January** (following year) |215216Payment is online (carte bancaire, virement, réseaux agréés). The **CNSS217contribution is collected at the same time** as the tax.218219> Missing a declaration (including a nil one) or a payment risks penalties and,220> ultimately, **radiation** from the RNAE. Confirm exact deadlines for 2026 on221> ae.gov.ma.222223---224225## 6. Worked Examples226227> All figures use the 2026 rates/ceilings flagged "verify". Recompute with confirmed228> values before relying on them.229230### Example 1 — Service freelancer, multiple clients231232Sara is a freelance web developer (services). 2026 collected turnover **MAD233150,000**, spread across 5 clients (largest single client MAD 45,000).234235- Within the services ceiling (200,000). Eligible.236- No client exceeds 80,000 → no 30% withholding.237- **IR = 150,000 × 1% = MAD 1,500** for the year.238- Plus CNSS quarterly contributions per her turnover bracket *(verify amount)*.239240### Example 2 — Services with one dominant client (>80k rule)241242Youssef does design work; 2026 turnover **MAD 120,000**, of which **MAD 100,000243from a single agency** and MAD 20,000 from others.244245- Within ceiling (200,000). Eligible.246- Single client = 100,000 > 80,000 → excess = **20,000**.247 - First 80,000 from that client + the 20,000 from other clients = **100,000 at248 1%** → **MAD 1,000**.249 - Excess **20,000 × 30% = MAD 6,000** withheld at source by the agency *(verify250 rate)*, liberatory on that slice.251- **Total tax ≈ MAD 7,000.** Flag the disguised-employment risk given the252 concentration.253254### Example 3 — Commercial activity at the lower rate255256Khadija resells handmade goods (commercial/artisanal). 2026 collected turnover257**MAD 400,000**.258259- Within commercial ceiling (500,000). Eligible.260- **IR = 400,000 × 0.5% = MAD 2,000** for the year.261- Plus CNSS quarterly contributions per bracket *(verify)*.262263### Example 4 — Ceiling breach → exit264265Omar (services) collects **MAD 230,000** in 2026, exceeding the 200,000 services266ceiling.267268- One year over is **tolerated**; the AE is generally **radiated only if the269 ceiling is exceeded two consecutive years** *(verify the current grace rule)*.270- On exit, Omar moves to **`ma-cpu` (CPU)** or the **`ma-income-tax`** régimes271 (résultat net simplifié / réel) and ordinary IR/TVA obligations may begin.272- Action: model the post-exit position with `ma-cpu` and `ma-income-tax` and advise273 on TVA registration thresholds.274275---276277## 7. Tier 2 — Reviewer Judgement Required278279Escalate to the **Moroccan expert-comptable** reviewer when:280281- **Single-client concentration** suggests **disguised employment** (labour-law282 requalification risk beyond the 30% tax point).283- **Ceiling breach** in the current or prior year — exit mechanics, CPU vs net-income284 routing, and TVA registration.285- **Borderline excluded activity** (possible regulated profession) — eligibility call.286- **Combined activities** straddling both ceilings.287- **CNSS bracket / AMO** entitlement disputes or arrears.288- **VAT (TVA)** interaction — AE turnover is generally outside ordinary TVA, but289 confirm against the TVA thresholds (see `morocco-vat`) if activity is borderline.290- Any client-specific number where the agent had to fall back to a "verify" value.291292The agent must **never** present these as settled; it presents the computation, the293assumptions, and the open items for the reviewer to sign off.294295---296297## 8. Reference298299### Legal references300301- **Loi n° 114-13** relative au statut de l'auto-entrepreneur (19 February 2015).302- **Code Général des Impôts (CGI)** — Art. **42 bis, 42 ter** (regime &303 conditions), **43, 44-II** (turnover ceilings / base), **73-III** (rates,304 including the single-client withholding).305- **Décret n° 2.21.477 (2021)** — mandatory CNSS / AMO affiliation for306 auto-entrepreneurs (généralisation AMO to TNS).307- **Loi de Finances 2026** — confirm current rates, ceilings, and any add-on308 duty; **2025 IR reform context:** the ordinary IR scale was reformed (exempt309 band raised to **MAD 40,000**, top rate reduced to **37%**), which is the310 fallback regime if an AE exits.311- Authority: **Direction Générale des Impôts (DGI)** — tax.gov.ma. Register:312 **RNAE** — rn.ae.gov.ma (Poste Maroc / Al Barid Bank). Social: **CNSS** —313 cnss.ma.314315### Short test suite3163171. **Q:** Service freelancer, MAD 90,000 turnover, no client over 80k. **A:** IR =318 90,000 × 1% = **MAD 900**; within ceiling; CNSS per bracket.3192. **Q:** Commercial AE, MAD 600,000 turnover. **A:** **Ceiling breached**320 (>500,000) — flag exit, route to `ma-cpu` / `ma-income-tax`.3213. **Q:** Services AE, single client pays MAD 130,000. **A:** 80,000 at 1% (MAD322 800); **50,000 × 30% = MAD 15,000** withheld by client *(verify rate)*; flag323 disguised-employment risk.3244. **Q:** Doctor wants AE status. **A:** **Excluded** (regulated profession) —325 route to `ma-income-tax`.3265. **Q:** Zero turnover this quarter. **A:** Still file a **déclaration néant**;327 **minimum CNSS** (~MAD 300/quarter, verify) still due.3286. **Q:** Activity mix not stated. **A:** Default to **services / 1%** and the329 200,000 ceiling until confirmed.330331---332333## PROHIBITIONS334335- **Do NOT** confirm eligibility for any **regulated/liberal profession** (lawyer,336 doctor, notary, expert-comptable, architect, etc.) — default to **excluded**.337- **Do NOT** apply the AE liberatory rates to turnover **above a ceiling** — once338 breached, the regime no longer applies; route to `ma-cpu` / `ma-income-tax`.339- **Do NOT** ignore the **single-client > MAD 80,000** rule for services — apply the340 30% withholding on the excess *(verify rate)* and flag disguised-employment risk.341- **Do NOT** deduct business expenses — the base is **turnover collected**, gross.342- **Do NOT** invent CNSS **T1–T8** bracket amounts — quote the minimum floor and343 send the user to cnss.ma / ae.gov.ma for the exact figure.344- **Do NOT** state any rate, ceiling, or deadline as final without the **"verify345 current value"** caveat against the **Loi de Finances 2026** and the DGI.346- **Do NOT** advise on **TVA**, employees/payroll, multi-state, or company forms347 (SARL/SA) under this skill — route to the relevant skill.348- **Do NOT** issue a return as filed without **expert-comptable** sign-off.349350---351352## Disclaimer353354This skill is **research-verified** against public sources (DGI / tax.gov.ma, the355auto-entrepreneur portal ae.gov.ma, PwC Worldwide Tax Summaries, and reporting on356the Loi de Finances 2025/2026) as of **May 2026**. It is **YMYL** content and is357**pending sign-off by a Moroccan accountant (expert-comptable)**. Rates, ceilings,358CNSS bracket amounts, and deadlines change with each Loi de Finances and must be359**re-verified** before use. Nothing here is a substitute for advice from a licensed360Moroccan expert-comptable or the DGI. Part of **openaccountants.com** — open-source361tax skills for the self-employed.362363---364365_Source: [OpenAccountants](https://openaccountants.com/skills/ma-auto-entrepreneur) — open tax Guides for AI, reviewed by named CPAs/CAs/EAs. Quality: **source-cited draft**. For always-current figures and named-accountant backing, connect the OpenAccountants MCP server (`openaccountants-mcp`)._