Morocco — Contribution Professionnelle Unique (CPU)
General reference only. This skill is general tax/accounting reference material for AI-assisted workflows. It has not been reviewed for any specific person's facts, documents, elections, deadlines, residency, filing status, or local procedures. Do not rely on it to file, pay, amend, or take a tax position without review by a qualified professional in the relevant jurisdiction.
The Contribution Professionnelle Unique (CPU) — المساهمة المهنية الموحدة —
is Morocco's single-tax regime for small individual taxpayers whose professional
income was historically determined under the régime du bénéfice forfaitaire
(the flat-rate profit regime). The forfaitaire regime was abrogated from 1
January 2021 and replaced by the CPU, instituted by Article 6 of the Loi de
Finances n° 65.20 for budget year 2020.
The CPU bundles, into a single payment, the taxes that a small professional
used to pay separately:
- the impôt sur le revenu (IR) on professional income, plus
- the taxe professionnelle (TP) and taxe de services communaux (TSC) —
both now permanently exonerated for CPU taxpayers (Loi 07-20 amending Loi
47-06 on local taxation), plus
- a droit complémentaire (complementary duty) that funds social protection,
in the first instance mandatory basic health insurance (AMO).
CPU sits between the two other self-employed routes:
ma-auto-entrepreneur — simpler, lower ceilings, a flat 0.5%/1% liberatory
IR on collected turnover. Use when the taxpayer qualifies and is below the AE
ceilings.
ma-income-tax (RNR — résultat net réel / RNS — résultat net
simplifié) — real-accounting regimes, mandatory above the CPU ceilings or by
option. Use when the CPU ceilings are breached or real-expense deduction is
beneficial.
This skill replies in the user's language. Moroccan users mix English, French,
and Darija — keep the native terms (CPU, IR, DGI, AMO, CNSS, droit
complémentaire) and explain them in the user's chosen language.
1. Quick Reference
| Field |
Value |
| Country |
Morocco (MA) |
| Regime |
Contribution Professionnelle Unique (CPU) — replaced the régime forfaitaire from 2021 |
| Currency |
MAD (dirham marocain, DH) |
| Turnover ceiling — commercial / industrial / artisanal |
MAD 2,000,000 / year (VAT included) (verify current value) |
| Turnover ceiling — services / liberal professions |
MAD 500,000 / year (VAT included) (verify current value) |
| Tax base |
Turnover × profession coefficient (coefficient per the table annexed to Art. 40-I CGI) |
| Liberatory IR rate (1st component) |
10% of the base → CPU IR = turnover × coefficient × 10% (verify current value) |
| 2nd component |
Droit complémentaire (AMO health cover), banded by the annual CPU IR amount — MAD 1,200 → 14,400 / year (8 bands) (verify table) |
| Effective minimum |
No Art. 144 cotisation minimale applies to CPU; the practical floor is the lowest droit complémentaire band = MAD 1,200 / year (verify) |
| Plus-values / indemnités (cession / cessation) |
20% liberatory IR on the net gain (verify rate) |
| Annual CA declaration & payment |
Before 1 April of the year following the year the turnover was earned |
| Payment options |
Annual (before 1 April) or quarterly (4 acomptes of 25%, before end of months 3, 6, 9, 12 of the following year) |
| Existence declaration (new taxpayer) |
Within 30 days of starting activity |
| Authority |
Direction Générale des Impôts (DGI) — tax.gov.ma |
| Portal |
SIMPL-CPU on tax.gov.ma (declaration is pre-filled by the DGI) |
| Social cover |
AMO via the droit complémentaire; CNSS-administered scheme |
| Primary legislation |
LF 65.20 (2020); CGI Art. 40, 41, 43, 44, 73-II, 82 quater, 173-I; Loi 07-20 (TP/TSC exemption) |
| Contributor |
Open Accountants Community |
| Quality tier |
Research-verified — pending sign-off by a Moroccan accountant (expert-comptable) |
| Version |
1.0 |
Conservative defaults
- Activity not stated → default to the services / liberal branch and the
MAD 500,000 ceiling (the lower, stricter limit), and flag for confirmation.
- Coefficient not known with certainty → do not guess; state the
computation as
turnover × coefficient × 10%, leave the coefficient as a
verify-from-the-Art. 40-I CGI annex placeholder, and escalate to Tier 2.
- Multiple activities → compute each activity separately with its own
coefficient, then sum (CGI Art. 40 —
D = Σ (CAᵢ × coefficientᵢ)).
- Any rate / ceiling / band → present with the "verify against Loi de
Finances 2026 and the DGI" caveat; never as final.
- AMO adhesion → the droit complémentaire is due once the taxpayer is
affiliated to basic AMO; treat affiliation as mandatory under the regime.
2. Eligibility & Ceilings
Who is in scope
CPU applies to individuals (personnes physiques) with professional income who
fall into one of these groups (CGI Art. 41; LF 65.20):
- taxpayers whose professional income was determined under the old régime du
bénéfice forfaitaire before the 2021 reform (they roll into CPU automatically
— no formality required, the prior forfaitaire declaration stands);
- taxpayers starting a professional activity who opt for CPU;
- taxpayers previously on RNR / RNS whose turnover has fallen below the CPU
ceiling and who opt back into CPU.
Turnover ceilings (VAT included)
The annual turnover must not exceed:
| Activity branch |
Annual ceiling (TTC) |
| Commercial, industrial, artisanal |
MAD 2,000,000 (verify) |
| Services (prestations de services) and non-excluded liberal professions |
MAD 500,000 (verify) |
Breach rule: if a ceiling is exceeded for two consecutive years, the
RNR (résultat net réel) regime applies from 1 January of the year following
those two years. A single year over the limit does not by itself force the
exit — but flag it and watch the second year.
Exclusions
Professions, activities, and services listed in décret n° 2-08-124 (28 May
2009) are excluded from CPU regardless of turnover. These are broadly the
regulated/liberal professions (the same families typically excluded from the
auto-entrepreneur regime). If the activity is one of these, route to
ma-income-tax. When unsure whether an activity is excluded, default to
excluded and escalate.
Option mechanics & deadlines
- New taxpayers opting for CPU: send a registered request (or hand-deliver
against receipt) to the inspecteur des impôts —
- option at start of activity: before 1 April of the year following the
start year;
- option in the course of activity (e.g. coming from RNR/RNS): within the
deadline for filing the prior year's global income declaration, i.e. before
1 May of the current year; the option takes effect the following year.
- The option stays valid as long as turnover has not exceeded the ceiling for
two consecutive years.
3. Computation
The CPU has two components: the IR component (1ère composante) and the
droit complémentaire (2ème composante — AMO health cover).
CPU = IR component + Droit complémentaire
= (Turnover × profession coefficient × 10%) + droit complémentaire (from table)
3.1 IR component (1ère composante)
Taxable base = Turnover (CA) × profession coefficient ← coefficient per Art. 40-I CGI annex
IR component = Taxable base × 10% (taux libératoire — flat liberatory rate)
= CA × coefficient × 10%
Important points:
- The 10% liberatory rate is applied directly to the coefficient-adjusted
base. The ordinary progressive IR scale is NOT applied to CPU income — the
CPU's 10% replaces it. (The progressive scale below is given only for context
and for routing comparisons against
ma-income-tax.)
- Mobile-payment turnover (paiement mobile) for years 2020–2024 is
excluded from the base (CGI Art. 247 ter incentive). Confirm whether any
equivalent incentive continues for 2026.
- Multiple activities with different coefficients → compute each separately
and sum.
Profession coefficients (Art. 40-I CGI annex) — verify each value. The annex
lists a coefficient for every activity/profession; coefficients have been grouped
and revised in consultation with professional associations to reflect net
margins. The DGI's own worked examples confirm these two values:
| Activity |
Coefficient |
Source confidence |
| Alimentation générale (general food retail) |
8% |
Confirmed (DGI CPU guide example) |
| Coiffeur (men's hairdresser) |
40% |
Confirmed (DGI CPU guide example) |
| Other commerce / services / artisanat / liberal |
per the Art. 40-I CGI annex |
Must be read from the annex — do not guess |
Do not invent coefficients for any other activity. Read the exact value from
the annex to the CGI (Art. 40-I) or the DGI's coefficient table.
Context only — ordinary IR progressive scale (2026)
This scale governs RNR/RNS taxpayers, not CPU. Use it only to compare
routes or to model what happens if the taxpayer exits CPU.
| Annual taxable income (MAD) |
Rate |
| 0 – 40,000 |
0% (exempt) |
| 40,001 – 60,000 |
10% |
| 60,001 – 80,000 |
20% |
| 80,001 – 100,000 |
30% |
| 100,001 – 180,000 |
34% |
| Over 180,000 |
37% |
(2025 IR reform: exempt band raised to MAD 40,000, top rate cut to 37% — verify
against Loi de Finances 2026.)
3.2 Minimum
There is no Article 144 cotisation minimale for CPU taxpayers — the 0.25%
(or 0.15%) minimum-contribution floor, raised to MAD 3,000 for 2026, applies
to RNR/RNS and corporate (IS) taxpayers, not to CPU. Under CPU the
effective floor is the lowest droit complémentaire band, MAD 1,200 / year,
which is payable once the taxpayer is affiliated to AMO even when the IR component
is tiny. Do not apply the MAD 3,000 CM to a CPU return.
3.3 Droit complémentaire (2ème composante — AMO health cover)
The annual IR component (1ère composante) determines, by band, the droit
complémentaire payable for AMO (basic mandatory health insurance). It is due
once the taxpayer adheres to the AMO scheme.
| Annual IR component band (MAD) |
Quarterly droit (MAD) |
Annual droit (MAD) |
| Less than 500 |
300 |
1,200 |
| 500 – 1,000 |
390 |
1,560 |
| 1,001 – 2,500 |
570 |
2,280 |
| 2,501 – 5,000 |
720 |
2,880 |
| 5,001 – 10,000 |
1,050 |
4,200 |
| 10,001 – 25,000 |
1,500 |
6,000 |
| 25,001 – 50,000 |
2,250 |
9,000 |
| Over 50,000 |
3,600 |
14,400 |
(Source: DGI CPU practical guide table. Verify the bands and amounts against the
current Loi de Finances / DGI publication.)
The droit complémentaire is pro-rated when the period is shorter than a full
year (e.g. on a mid-year cessation — see Example 3): annualize the IR component to
find the band, then apply the months/12 fraction to the annual droit.
4. Filing & Payment Calendar
| Obligation |
Deadline |
Form / channel |
| Existence declaration (new taxpayer) |
Within 30 days of starting activity |
Imprimé-modèle DGI; registered letter or against receipt |
| Annual turnover (CA) declaration |
Before 1 April of the year following the year the turnover was earned |
SIMPL-CPU on tax.gov.ma (pre-filled) — model ADP150B; paper accepted |
| Annual payment option |
Spontaneous payment before 1 April (with the declaration) |
Bordereau-avis RSP150B; télépaiement via SIMPL |
| Quarterly payment option |
4 acomptes of 25% of the CPU due, before the end of months 3, 6, 9 and 12 of the following year |
Bordereau-avis RSP150B per quarter |
| Plus-values / indemnités declaration (cession / cessation) |
Within 45 days of the cession / cessation |
Model ADP160B, bordereau RSP160B (CGI Art. 82 quater-II) |
| Transfer of fiscal domicile |
Within 30 days of the change |
Imprimé-modèle DGI |
| Departure from Morocco |
At least 30 days before departure |
— |
| Death |
Within 3 months of death |
Heirs file |
Notes:
- All CPU taxpayers must file the CA declaration, including those whose IR
in principal is below MAD 5,000 — the old exemption from filing (former Art.
86-4°) was abrogated by LF 2021.
- The declaration is pre-filled by the DGI in SIMPL-CPU based on the regime's
computation rules; the taxpayer chooses the annual or quarterly payment option
and (where applicable) supplies the AMO affiliation number and date.
- Late filing / late payment (CGI Art. 184 / 208): typically a penalty of
10% (reduced to 5% if the delay ≤ 30 days), plus a 5% surcharge for the
first month of late payment and 0.5% per additional month or fraction.
(Verify current rates.)
5. Worked Examples
All figures illustrative; coefficients and bands must be verified against the
Art. 40-I CGI annex and the current DGI droit-complémentaire table.
Example 1 — General food shop (alimentation générale)
- Turnover (CA): MAD 375,000; coefficient (alimentation générale): 8%.
- IR component =
375,000 × 8% × 10% = MAD 3,000.
- The MAD 3,000 IR falls in the 2,501–5,000 band → droit complémentaire =
MAD 2,880 / year.
- Total CPU = 3,000 + 2,880 = MAD 5,880 / year (payable once AMO-affiliated).
- This mirrors the DGI's transitional example, where the same MAD 3,000 equalled
the old IR + TP combined.
Example 2 — New men's hairdresser (coiffeur), first year
- Turnover (CA): MAD 60,000; coefficient (coiffeur): 40%.
- IR component =
60,000 × 40% × 10% = MAD 2,400.
- The MAD 2,400 IR falls in the 1,001–2,500 band → droit complémentaire =
MAD 2,280 / year.
- Total CPU = 2,400 + 2,280 = MAD 4,680 / year.
Example 3 — Mid-year cessation with plus-value
- A carpenter (menuisier), AMO-affiliated, ceases on 30 June and sells the
business for MAD 180,000, realizing a net gain of MAD 100,000. He earned
MAD 90,000 turnover in the first half; assume coefficient 12% (verify
from the annex).
- CPU on the half-year turnover:
90,000 × 12% × 10% = MAD 1,080.
- Droit complémentaire (pro-rated): annualize the IR —
1,080 × (12/6) = 2,160
→ falls in the 1,001–2,500 band → annual droit MAD 2,280; pro-rate to 6
months: 2,280 × 6/12 = MAD 1,140.
- CPU to pay =
1,080 + 1,140 = MAD 2,220.
- Plus-value:
100,000 × 20% = MAD 20,000 (separate 20% liberatory IR;
declared on ADP160B within 45 days).
Example 4 — Ceiling breach (routing, not a CPU number)
- A trader's turnover is MAD 2,300,000 (commercial) for a second consecutive
year. The MAD 2,000,000 ceiling is breached two years running → RNR
applies from 1 January of the next year. Do not compute CPU; route to
ma-income-tax and flag VAT (TVA) registration implications (see
morocco-vat).
6. Tier 2 — Reviewer Judgement Required
Escalate to the Moroccan expert-comptable reviewer when:
- The profession coefficient is anything other than the confirmed values
(alimentation 8%, coiffeur 40%) — the exact Art. 40-I annex value must be read
and verified.
- Borderline excluded activity (possible décret 2-08-124 / regulated
profession) — eligibility call; default to excluded.
- Ceiling breach in the current or prior year — exit timing (one vs two
consecutive years), RNR/RNS routing, and TVA registration.
- Multiple activities straddling both ceilings or mixing coefficients.
- Mobile-payment turnover treatment (the 2020–2024 exclusion) and whether any
equivalent incentive applies in 2026.
- AMO affiliation status / arrears — whether the droit complémentaire is yet
payable, and the pro-rata on a part-year.
- Plus-values / cessation computations (depreciation recapture, indemnités).
- Any number where the agent had to fall back to a "verify" value.
The agent must never present these as settled; it presents the computation,
the assumptions, and the open items for the reviewer to sign off.
7. Reference
Legal references (Code Général des Impôts and related)
- CGI Art. 40-I — determination of the CPU professional income (turnover ×
profession coefficient); annexed coefficient table by activity.
- CGI Art. 41 — conditions of application of the CPU regime.
- CGI Art. 43 / 44 — turnover ceilings and the base.
- CGI Art. 73-II — the 10% liberatory rate (IR component) and the 20%
rate on plus-values / indemnités; Art. 73-II-B-6° — the droit
complémentaire.
- CGI Art. 82 quater — declaration of turnover and of plus-values/indemnités
under the CPU.
- CGI Art. 173-I — spontaneous payment (bordereau-avis de versement).
- CGI Art. 184 / 208 — late-filing and late-payment penalties.
- CGI Art. 247 ter — exclusion of 2020–2024 mobile-payment turnover from the
base.
- Loi de Finances n° 65.20 (2020), Art. 6 — institution of the CPU; abrogation
of the régime du bénéfice forfaitaire from 1 January 2021.
- Loi 07-20 amending Loi 47-06 (local taxation) — permanent exemption from
taxe professionnelle (TP) and taxe de services communaux (TSC) for CPU
taxpayers.
- Décret n° 2-08-124 (28 May 2009) — list of activities/professions excluded
from CPU.
- Loi de Finances 2026 (LF n° 50-25) and Note Circulaire DGI n° 737 —
confirm current ceilings, the 10% rate, the coefficient annex, and the droit
complémentaire bands.
- Authority: Direction Générale des Impôts (DGI) — tax.gov.ma (portal
SIMPL-CPU). Social: AMO / CNSS — cnss.ma.
- Official forms: ADP150B (CA declaration), RSP150B (payment bordereau),
ADP160B / RSP160B (plus-values & indemnités).
Short test suite
- Q: Alimentation générale, CA MAD 375,000, coefficient 8%. A: IR =
375,000 × 8% × 10% = MAD 3,000; droit complémentaire band 2,501–5,000 =
MAD 2,880; total MAD 5,880.
- Q: Coiffeur, CA MAD 60,000, coefficient 40%. A: IR = 60,000 × 40% ×
10% = MAD 2,400; droit band 1,001–2,500 = MAD 2,280; total MAD
4,680.
- Q: Services freelancer, CA MAD 700,000. A: Ceiling breached
(>500,000 for services) — flag; if breached two years running route to
ma-income-tax (RNR).
- Q: Activity branch not stated. A: Default to services / MAD 500,000
ceiling; do not assume a coefficient — escalate.
- Q: Coefficient for "atelier de soudure" not known. A: Do not guess;
state
CA × coefficient × 10%, read coefficient from the Art. 40-I annex,
Tier 2.
- Q: Doctor / lawyer wants CPU. A: Excluded (décret 2-08-124 /
regulated profession) — route to
ma-income-tax.
- Q: Does the MAD 3,000 cotisation minimale apply? A: No — Art. 144
CM does not apply to CPU; the practical floor is the MAD 1,200 droit
complémentaire band.
- Q: Sold the business, net gain MAD 100,000. A: 20% liberatory =
MAD 20,000; declare on ADP160B within 45 days.
PROHIBITIONS
- Do NOT apply the ordinary progressive IR scale to CPU income — the CPU
IR component is the flat 10% liberatory rate on the coefficient-adjusted
base.
- Do NOT invent a profession coefficient — only
alimentation générale = 8% and coiffeur = 40% are confirmed here; every other value must be read from
the Art. 40-I CGI annex.
- Do NOT apply the Art. 144 cotisation minimale (MAD 3,000) to a CPU
taxpayer — it does not apply to CPU.
- Do NOT confirm eligibility for a regulated / liberal profession or any
activity on décret 2-08-124 — default to excluded, route to
ma-income-tax.
- Do NOT keep computing CPU once a ceiling is breached for two consecutive
years — route to
ma-income-tax (RNR) and flag TVA.
- Do NOT omit the droit complémentaire — the CPU is IR component plus
the AMO duty; remember to pro-rate it on a part-year.
- Do NOT deduct business expenses — the CPU base is turnover × the
profession coefficient, not real net profit.
- Do NOT state any rate, ceiling, coefficient, or band as final without the
"verify against Loi de Finances 2026 and the DGI" caveat.
- Do NOT advise on TVA, employees / payroll, or company forms (SARL/SA)
under this skill — route to the relevant skill.
- Do NOT issue a return as filed without expert-comptable sign-off.
Disclaimer
This skill is research-verified against public sources — the DGI
(tax.gov.ma), the official DGI "Guide pratique relatif à l'application du régime
de la CPU", PwC Worldwide Tax Summaries (Morocco), and reporting on the
Loi de Finances 2025/2026 — as of May 2026. It is YMYL content and is
pending sign-off by a Moroccan accountant (expert-comptable). Coefficients,
rates, ceilings, droit-complémentaire bands, and deadlines change with each Loi de
Finances and must be re-verified before use. Nothing here is a substitute for
advice from a licensed Moroccan expert-comptable or the DGI. Part of
openaccountants.com — open-source tax skills for the self-employed.
Source: OpenAccountants — open tax Guides for AI, reviewed by named CPAs/CAs/EAs. Quality: source-cited draft. For always-current figures and named-accountant backing, connect the OpenAccountants MCP server (openaccountants-mcp).
1---2name: ma-cpu3description: > Use this skill whenever asked about Morocco's Contribution Professionnelle Unique (CPU) — the single-tax regime that replaced the régime forfaitaire (régime du bénéfice forfaitaire) for small self-employed people and professionals who are not on the auto-entrepreneur status. Trigger on phrases like "CPU Maroc", "Contribution Professionnelle Unique", "régime forfaitaire Maroc", "contribution professionnelle unique calcul", "droit complémentaire AMO CPU", "coefficient bénéfice CPU", "المساهمة المهنية الموحدة", "CPU vs auto-entrepreneur Maroc". Covers eligibility and turnover ceilings, the CPU computation (turnover × profession coefficient → 10% liberatory IR), the effective minimum, the mandatory complementary health contribution (droit complémentaire) banded by profit for AMO, and the filing & payment calendar. Reply in the user's language (English, French, or Moroccan Arabic / Darija) and keep the native terms (CPU, IR, DGI, AMO, CNSS).4license: AGPL-3.0-or-later (code) / OpenAccountants Guide License v1.0 (c5---67# Morocco — Contribution Professionnelle Unique (CPU)89> **General reference only.** This skill is general tax/accounting reference material for AI-assisted workflows. It has not been reviewed for any specific person's facts, documents, elections, deadlines, residency, filing status, or local procedures. Do not rely on it to file, pay, amend, or take a tax position without review by a qualified professional in the relevant jurisdiction.1011The **Contribution Professionnelle Unique (CPU)** — *المساهمة المهنية الموحدة* —12is Morocco's single-tax regime for small individual taxpayers whose professional13income was historically determined under the **régime du bénéfice forfaitaire**14(the flat-rate profit regime). The forfaitaire regime was **abrogated from 115January 2021** and replaced by the CPU, instituted by **Article 6 of the Loi de16Finances n° 65.20** for budget year 2020.1718The CPU bundles, into a **single payment**, the taxes that a small professional19used to pay separately:2021- the **impôt sur le revenu (IR)** on professional income, plus22- the **taxe professionnelle (TP)** and **taxe de services communaux (TSC)** —23 both now **permanently exonerated** for CPU taxpayers (Loi 07-20 amending Loi24 47-06 on local taxation), plus25- a **droit complémentaire** (complementary duty) that funds social protection,26 in the first instance **mandatory basic health insurance (AMO)**.2728CPU sits **between** the two other self-employed routes:2930- **`ma-auto-entrepreneur`** — simpler, lower ceilings, a flat 0.5%/1% liberatory31 IR on collected turnover. Use when the taxpayer qualifies and is below the AE32 ceilings.33- **`ma-income-tax`** (RNR — *résultat net réel* / RNS — *résultat net34 simplifié*) — real-accounting regimes, mandatory above the CPU ceilings or by35 option. Use when the CPU ceilings are breached or real-expense deduction is36 beneficial.3738This skill replies in the user's language. Moroccan users mix English, French,39and Darija — keep the native terms (CPU, IR, DGI, AMO, CNSS, droit40complémentaire) and explain them in the user's chosen language.4142---4344## 1. Quick Reference4546| Field | Value |47|---|---|48| Country | Morocco (MA) |49| Regime | Contribution Professionnelle Unique (CPU) — replaced the régime forfaitaire from 2021 |50| Currency | MAD (dirham marocain, DH) |51| Turnover ceiling — commercial / industrial / artisanal | **MAD 2,000,000 / year (VAT included)** *(verify current value)* |52| Turnover ceiling — services / liberal professions | **MAD 500,000 / year (VAT included)** *(verify current value)* |53| Tax base | **Turnover × profession coefficient** (coefficient per the table annexed to **Art. 40-I CGI**) |54| Liberatory IR rate (1st component) | **10%** of the base → CPU IR = turnover × coefficient × 10% *(verify current value)* |55| 2nd component | **Droit complémentaire** (AMO health cover), banded by the annual CPU IR amount — **MAD 1,200 → 14,400 / year** (8 bands) *(verify table)* |56| Effective minimum | No Art. 144 cotisation minimale applies to CPU; the practical floor is the **lowest droit complémentaire band = MAD 1,200 / year** *(verify)* |57| Plus-values / indemnités (cession / cessation) | **20% liberatory IR** on the net gain *(verify rate)* |58| Annual CA declaration & payment | **Before 1 April** of the year following the year the turnover was earned |59| Payment options | **Annual** (before 1 April) **or quarterly** (4 acomptes of 25%, before end of months 3, 6, 9, 12 of the following year) |60| Existence declaration (new taxpayer) | Within **30 days** of starting activity |61| Authority | **Direction Générale des Impôts (DGI)** — tax.gov.ma |62| Portal | **SIMPL-CPU** on tax.gov.ma (declaration is **pre-filled** by the DGI) |63| Social cover | **AMO** via the droit complémentaire; CNSS-administered scheme |64| Primary legislation | LF 65.20 (2020); CGI Art. **40, 41, 43, 44, 73-II, 82 quater, 173-I**; Loi 07-20 (TP/TSC exemption) |65| Contributor | Open Accountants Community |66| Quality tier | **Research-verified — pending sign-off by a Moroccan accountant (expert-comptable)** |67| Version | 1.0 |6869### Conservative defaults7071- **Activity not stated** → default to the **services / liberal** branch and the72 **MAD 500,000** ceiling (the lower, stricter limit), and flag for confirmation.73- **Coefficient not known with certainty** → do **not** guess; state the74 computation as `turnover × coefficient × 10%`, leave the coefficient as a75 *verify-from-the-Art. 40-I CGI annex* placeholder, and escalate to Tier 2.76- **Multiple activities** → compute **each** activity separately with its own77 coefficient, then sum (CGI Art. 40 — `D = Σ (CAᵢ × coefficientᵢ)`).78- **Any rate / ceiling / band** → present with the **"verify against Loi de79 Finances 2026 and the DGI"** caveat; never as final.80- **AMO adhesion** → the droit complémentaire is **due once the taxpayer is81 affiliated** to basic AMO; treat affiliation as mandatory under the regime.8283---8485## 2. Eligibility & Ceilings8687### Who is in scope8889CPU applies to **individuals (personnes physiques)** with professional income who90fall into one of these groups (CGI Art. 41; LF 65.20):9192- taxpayers whose professional income **was determined under the old régime du93 bénéfice forfaitaire** before the 2021 reform (they roll into CPU automatically94 — **no formality required**, the prior forfaitaire declaration stands);95- taxpayers **starting** a professional activity who opt for CPU;96- taxpayers previously on **RNR / RNS** whose turnover has fallen **below the CPU97 ceiling** and who opt back into CPU.9899### Turnover ceilings (VAT included)100101The annual turnover must **not exceed**:102103| Activity branch | Annual ceiling (TTC) |104|---|---|105| Commercial, industrial, artisanal | **MAD 2,000,000** *(verify)* |106| Services (prestations de services) and non-excluded liberal professions | **MAD 500,000** *(verify)* |107108**Breach rule:** if a ceiling is exceeded for **two consecutive years**, the109**RNR (résultat net réel)** regime applies from **1 January of the year following110those two years**. A single year over the limit does **not** by itself force the111exit — but flag it and watch the second year.112113### Exclusions114115Professions, activities, and services listed in **décret n° 2-08-124 (28 May1162009)** are **excluded from CPU regardless of turnover**. These are broadly the117regulated/liberal professions (the same families typically excluded from the118auto-entrepreneur regime). If the activity is one of these, route to119**`ma-income-tax`**. When unsure whether an activity is excluded, **default to120excluded** and escalate.121122### Option mechanics & deadlines123124- **New taxpayers** opting for CPU: send a registered request (or hand-deliver125 against receipt) to the inspecteur des impôts —126 - **option at start of activity**: before **1 April** of the year following the127 start year;128 - **option in the course of activity** (e.g. coming from RNR/RNS): within the129 deadline for filing the prior year's global income declaration, i.e. before130 **1 May** of the current year; the option takes effect **the following year**.131- The option stays valid **as long as** turnover has not exceeded the ceiling for132 two consecutive years.133134---135136## 3. Computation137138The CPU has **two components**: the **IR component** (1ère composante) and the139**droit complémentaire** (2ème composante — AMO health cover).140141```142CPU = IR component + Droit complémentaire143 = (Turnover × profession coefficient × 10%) + droit complémentaire (from table)144```145146### 3.1 IR component (1ère composante)147148```149Taxable base = Turnover (CA) × profession coefficient ← coefficient per Art. 40-I CGI annex150IR component = Taxable base × 10% (taux libératoire — flat liberatory rate)151 = CA × coefficient × 10%152```153154Important points:155156- The **10% liberatory rate** is applied **directly** to the coefficient-adjusted157 base. The ordinary progressive **IR scale is NOT applied** to CPU income — the158 CPU's 10% replaces it. *(The progressive scale below is given only for context159 and for routing comparisons against `ma-income-tax`.)*160- **Mobile-payment turnover** (paiement mobile) for years **2020–2024** is161 **excluded** from the base (CGI Art. 247 ter incentive). Confirm whether any162 equivalent incentive continues for 2026.163- **Multiple activities** with different coefficients → compute each separately164 and sum.165166**Profession coefficients (Art. 40-I CGI annex) — verify each value.** The annex167lists a coefficient for every activity/profession; coefficients have been grouped168and revised in consultation with professional associations to reflect net169margins. The DGI's own worked examples confirm these two values:170171| Activity | Coefficient | Source confidence |172|---|---|---|173| Alimentation générale (general food retail) | **8%** | **Confirmed** (DGI CPU guide example) |174| Coiffeur (men's hairdresser) | **40%** | **Confirmed** (DGI CPU guide example) |175| Other commerce / services / artisanat / liberal | **per the Art. 40-I CGI annex** | *Must be read from the annex — do not guess* |176177Do **not** invent coefficients for any other activity. Read the exact value from178the **annex to the CGI (Art. 40-I)** or the DGI's coefficient table.179180### Context only — ordinary IR progressive scale (2026)181182This scale governs **RNR/RNS** taxpayers, **not** CPU. Use it only to compare183routes or to model what happens if the taxpayer exits CPU.184185| Annual taxable income (MAD) | Rate |186|---|---|187| 0 – 40,000 | **0% (exempt)** |188| 40,001 – 60,000 | 10% |189| 60,001 – 80,000 | 20% |190| 80,001 – 100,000 | 30% |191| 100,001 – 180,000 | 34% |192| Over 180,000 | **37%** |193194*(2025 IR reform: exempt band raised to MAD 40,000, top rate cut to 37% — verify195against Loi de Finances 2026.)*196197### 3.2 Minimum198199There is **no Article 144 cotisation minimale** for CPU taxpayers — the 0.25%200(or 0.15%) minimum-contribution floor, raised to **MAD 3,000** for 2026, applies201to **RNR/RNS and corporate (IS)** taxpayers, **not** to CPU. Under CPU the202**effective floor** is the **lowest droit complémentaire band, MAD 1,200 / year**,203which is payable once the taxpayer is affiliated to AMO even when the IR component204is tiny. Do not apply the MAD 3,000 CM to a CPU return.205206### 3.3 Droit complémentaire (2ème composante — AMO health cover)207208The **annual IR component** (1ère composante) determines, by band, the **droit209complémentaire** payable for **AMO** (basic mandatory health insurance). It is due210once the taxpayer adheres to the AMO scheme.211212| Annual IR component band (MAD) | Quarterly droit (MAD) | **Annual droit (MAD)** |213|---|---|---|214| Less than 500 | 300 | **1,200** |215| 500 – 1,000 | 390 | **1,560** |216| 1,001 – 2,500 | 570 | **2,280** |217| 2,501 – 5,000 | 720 | **2,880** |218| 5,001 – 10,000 | 1,050 | **4,200** |219| 10,001 – 25,000 | 1,500 | **6,000** |220| 25,001 – 50,000 | 2,250 | **9,000** |221| Over 50,000 | 3,600 | **14,400** |222223*(Source: DGI CPU practical guide table. Verify the bands and amounts against the224current Loi de Finances / DGI publication.)*225226The droit complémentaire is **pro-rated** when the period is shorter than a full227year (e.g. on a mid-year cessation — see Example 3): annualize the IR component to228find the band, then apply the months/12 fraction to the annual droit.229230---231232## 4. Filing & Payment Calendar233234| Obligation | Deadline | Form / channel |235|---|---|---|236| **Existence declaration** (new taxpayer) | Within **30 days** of starting activity | Imprimé-modèle DGI; registered letter or against receipt |237| **Annual turnover (CA) declaration** | **Before 1 April** of the year following the year the turnover was earned | **SIMPL-CPU** on tax.gov.ma (pre-filled) — model **ADP150B**; paper accepted |238| **Annual payment** option | Spontaneous payment **before 1 April** (with the declaration) | Bordereau-avis **RSP150B**; télépaiement via SIMPL |239| **Quarterly payment** option | **4 acomptes of 25%** of the CPU due, before the end of **months 3, 6, 9 and 12** of the following year | Bordereau-avis **RSP150B** per quarter |240| **Plus-values / indemnités** declaration (cession / cessation) | Within **45 days** of the cession / cessation | Model **ADP160B**, bordereau **RSP160B** (CGI Art. 82 quater-II) |241| Transfer of fiscal domicile | Within **30 days** of the change | Imprimé-modèle DGI |242| Departure from Morocco | At least **30 days before** departure | — |243| Death | Within **3 months** of death | Heirs file |244245Notes:246247- **All** CPU taxpayers must file the CA declaration, **including** those whose IR248 in principal is **below MAD 5,000** — the old exemption from filing (former Art.249 86-4°) was abrogated by LF 2021.250- The declaration is **pre-filled** by the DGI in SIMPL-CPU based on the regime's251 computation rules; the taxpayer chooses the annual or quarterly payment option252 and (where applicable) supplies the AMO affiliation number and date.253- **Late filing / late payment** (CGI Art. 184 / 208): typically a **penalty of254 10%** (reduced to 5% if the delay ≤ 30 days), plus a **5%** surcharge for the255 first month of late payment and **0.5%** per additional month or fraction.256 *(Verify current rates.)*257258---259260## 5. Worked Examples261262> All figures illustrative; coefficients and bands must be verified against the263> Art. 40-I CGI annex and the current DGI droit-complémentaire table.264265### Example 1 — General food shop (alimentation générale)266267- Turnover (CA): **MAD 375,000**; coefficient (alimentation générale): **8%**.268- IR component = `375,000 × 8% × 10%` = **MAD 3,000**.269- The MAD 3,000 IR falls in the **2,501–5,000** band → droit complémentaire =270 **MAD 2,880 / year**.271- **Total CPU = 3,000 + 2,880 = MAD 5,880 / year** (payable once AMO-affiliated).272- This mirrors the DGI's transitional example, where the same MAD 3,000 equalled273 the old IR + TP combined.274275### Example 2 — New men's hairdresser (coiffeur), first year276277- Turnover (CA): **MAD 60,000**; coefficient (coiffeur): **40%**.278- IR component = `60,000 × 40% × 10%` = **MAD 2,400**.279- The MAD 2,400 IR falls in the **1,001–2,500** band → droit complémentaire =280 **MAD 2,280 / year**.281- **Total CPU = 2,400 + 2,280 = MAD 4,680 / year**.282283### Example 3 — Mid-year cessation with plus-value284285- A carpenter (menuisier), AMO-affiliated, **ceases on 30 June** and **sells the286 business for MAD 180,000**, realizing a **net gain of MAD 100,000**. He earned287 **MAD 90,000** turnover in the first half; assume coefficient **12%** *(verify288 from the annex)*.289- **CPU on the half-year turnover:** `90,000 × 12% × 10%` = **MAD 1,080**.290- **Droit complémentaire (pro-rated):** annualize the IR — `1,080 × (12/6) = 2,160`291 → falls in the **1,001–2,500** band → annual droit **MAD 2,280**; pro-rate to 6292 months: `2,280 × 6/12 =` **MAD 1,140**.293- CPU to pay = `1,080 + 1,140 =` **MAD 2,220**.294- **Plus-value:** `100,000 × 20% =` **MAD 20,000** (separate 20% liberatory IR;295 declared on **ADP160B** within **45 days**).296297### Example 4 — Ceiling breach (routing, not a CPU number)298299- A trader's turnover is **MAD 2,300,000** (commercial) for a second consecutive300 year. The **MAD 2,000,000** ceiling is breached two years running → **RNR301 applies from 1 January** of the next year. Do **not** compute CPU; route to302 **`ma-income-tax`** and flag VAT (TVA) registration implications (see303 `morocco-vat`).304305---306307## 6. Tier 2 — Reviewer Judgement Required308309Escalate to the **Moroccan expert-comptable** reviewer when:310311- The **profession coefficient** is anything other than the confirmed values312 (alimentation 8%, coiffeur 40%) — the exact Art. 40-I annex value must be read313 and verified.314- **Borderline excluded activity** (possible décret 2-08-124 / regulated315 profession) — eligibility call; default to excluded.316- **Ceiling breach** in the current or prior year — exit timing (one vs two317 consecutive years), RNR/RNS routing, and **TVA** registration.318- **Multiple activities** straddling both ceilings or mixing coefficients.319- **Mobile-payment turnover** treatment (the 2020–2024 exclusion) and whether any320 equivalent incentive applies in 2026.321- **AMO affiliation** status / arrears — whether the droit complémentaire is yet322 payable, and the pro-rata on a part-year.323- **Plus-values / cessation** computations (depreciation recapture, indemnités).324- Any number where the agent had to fall back to a "verify" value.325326The agent must **never** present these as settled; it presents the computation,327the assumptions, and the open items for the reviewer to sign off.328329---330331## 7. Reference332333### Legal references (Code Général des Impôts and related)334335- **CGI Art. 40-I** — determination of the CPU professional income (turnover ×336 profession coefficient); **annexed coefficient table** by activity.337- **CGI Art. 41** — conditions of application of the CPU regime.338- **CGI Art. 43 / 44** — turnover ceilings and the base.339- **CGI Art. 73-II** — the **10% liberatory rate** (IR component) and the **20%**340 rate on plus-values / indemnités; **Art. 73-II-B-6°** — the droit341 complémentaire.342- **CGI Art. 82 quater** — declaration of turnover and of plus-values/indemnités343 under the CPU.344- **CGI Art. 173-I** — spontaneous payment (bordereau-avis de versement).345- **CGI Art. 184 / 208** — late-filing and late-payment penalties.346- **CGI Art. 247 ter** — exclusion of 2020–2024 mobile-payment turnover from the347 base.348- **Loi de Finances n° 65.20 (2020), Art. 6** — institution of the CPU; abrogation349 of the régime du bénéfice forfaitaire from 1 January 2021.350- **Loi 07-20** amending **Loi 47-06** (local taxation) — permanent exemption from351 **taxe professionnelle (TP)** and **taxe de services communaux (TSC)** for CPU352 taxpayers.353- **Décret n° 2-08-124 (28 May 2009)** — list of activities/professions excluded354 from CPU.355- **Loi de Finances 2026 (LF n° 50-25)** and **Note Circulaire DGI n° 737** —356 confirm current ceilings, the 10% rate, the coefficient annex, and the droit357 complémentaire bands.358- Authority: **Direction Générale des Impôts (DGI)** — tax.gov.ma (portal359 **SIMPL-CPU**). Social: **AMO / CNSS** — cnss.ma.360- Official forms: **ADP150B** (CA declaration), **RSP150B** (payment bordereau),361 **ADP160B / RSP160B** (plus-values & indemnités).362363### Short test suite3643651. **Q:** Alimentation générale, CA MAD 375,000, coefficient 8%. **A:** IR =366 375,000 × 8% × 10% = **MAD 3,000**; droit complémentaire band 2,501–5,000 =367 **MAD 2,880**; total **MAD 5,880**.3682. **Q:** Coiffeur, CA MAD 60,000, coefficient 40%. **A:** IR = 60,000 × 40% ×369 10% = **MAD 2,400**; droit band 1,001–2,500 = **MAD 2,280**; total **MAD370 4,680**.3713. **Q:** Services freelancer, CA MAD 700,000. **A:** **Ceiling breached**372 (>500,000 for services) — flag; if breached two years running route to373 **`ma-income-tax`** (RNR).3744. **Q:** Activity branch not stated. **A:** Default to **services / MAD 500,000375 ceiling**; do not assume a coefficient — escalate.3765. **Q:** Coefficient for "atelier de soudure" not known. **A:** Do **not** guess;377 state `CA × coefficient × 10%`, read coefficient from the **Art. 40-I annex**,378 Tier 2.3796. **Q:** Doctor / lawyer wants CPU. **A:** **Excluded** (décret 2-08-124 /380 regulated profession) — route to **`ma-income-tax`**.3817. **Q:** Does the MAD 3,000 cotisation minimale apply? **A:** **No** — Art. 144382 CM does not apply to CPU; the practical floor is the **MAD 1,200** droit383 complémentaire band.3848. **Q:** Sold the business, net gain MAD 100,000. **A:** **20% liberatory** =385 **MAD 20,000**; declare on **ADP160B** within **45 days**.386387---388389## PROHIBITIONS390391- **Do NOT** apply the **ordinary progressive IR scale** to CPU income — the CPU392 IR component is the **flat 10% liberatory** rate on the coefficient-adjusted393 base.394- **Do NOT** invent a **profession coefficient** — only `alimentation générale =395 8%` and `coiffeur = 40%` are confirmed here; every other value must be read from396 the **Art. 40-I CGI annex**.397- **Do NOT** apply the **Art. 144 cotisation minimale (MAD 3,000)** to a CPU398 taxpayer — it does not apply to CPU.399- **Do NOT** confirm eligibility for a **regulated / liberal profession** or any400 activity on **décret 2-08-124** — default to **excluded**, route to401 `ma-income-tax`.402- **Do NOT** keep computing CPU once a **ceiling** is breached for two consecutive403 years — route to **`ma-income-tax`** (RNR) and flag TVA.404- **Do NOT** omit the **droit complémentaire** — the CPU is IR component **plus**405 the AMO duty; remember to **pro-rate** it on a part-year.406- **Do NOT** deduct **business expenses** — the CPU base is **turnover × the407 profession coefficient**, not real net profit.408- **Do NOT** state any rate, ceiling, coefficient, or band as final without the409 **"verify against Loi de Finances 2026 and the DGI"** caveat.410- **Do NOT** advise on **TVA**, employees / payroll, or company forms (SARL/SA)411 under this skill — route to the relevant skill.412- **Do NOT** issue a return as filed without **expert-comptable** sign-off.413414---415416## Disclaimer417418This skill is **research-verified** against public sources — the **DGI**419(tax.gov.ma), the official **DGI "Guide pratique relatif à l'application du régime420de la CPU"**, **PwC Worldwide Tax Summaries** (Morocco), and reporting on the421**Loi de Finances 2025/2026** — as of **May 2026**. It is **YMYL** content and is422**pending sign-off by a Moroccan accountant (expert-comptable)**. Coefficients,423rates, ceilings, droit-complémentaire bands, and deadlines change with each Loi de424Finances and must be **re-verified** before use. Nothing here is a substitute for425advice from a licensed Moroccan expert-comptable or the DGI. Part of426**openaccountants.com** — open-source tax skills for the self-employed.427428---429430_Source: [OpenAccountants](https://openaccountants.com/skills/ma-cpu) — open tax Guides for AI, reviewed by named CPAs/CAs/EAs. Quality: **source-cited draft**. For always-current figures and named-accountant backing, connect the OpenAccountants MCP server (`openaccountants-mcp`)._