Morocco — Payroll for a Self-Employed Person Who Hires Employees (IR salarial / CNSS / AMO / TFP)
General reference only. This skill is general tax/accounting reference material for AI-assisted workflows. It has not been reviewed for any specific person's facts, documents, elections, deadlines, residency, filing status, or local procedures. Do not rely on it to file, pay, amend, or take a tax position without review by a qualified professional in the relevant jurisdiction.
A self-employed person in Morocco — whether an auto-entrepreneur, a registered
travailleur non-salarié (TNS), or the manager of a small structure — who hires
even one employee becomes an employer (employeur) with three monthly payroll
obligations:
- IR salarial — the impôt sur le revenu on salaries, withheld at source
(retenue à la source) and paid to the Direction Générale des Impôts (DGI).
- CNSS contributions — social-security contributions to the Caisse Nationale de
Sécurité Sociale, split between employer (part patronale) and employee
(part salariale), including AMO (Assurance Maladie Obligatoire) and the
taxe de formation professionnelle (TFP).
- The bulletin de paie — a compliant payslip for each employee each month.
This is fundamentally different from the contributor's own self-employed cover
(TNS / auto-entrepreneur AMO and retraite — see ma-social-contributions). As an
employer you compute percentages on each employee's real salary with a ceiling,
not a forfaitaire SMIG-indexed base.
This skill replies in the user's language. Moroccan users mix English, French, and
Darija — keep the native terms (IR salarial, CNSS, AMO, TFP, SMIG, bulletin de paie,
Damancom, SIMPL) and explain them in the user's chosen language.
1. Quick Reference
| Field |
Value |
| Country |
Morocco (MA) |
| Topic |
Payroll for an employer (IR salarial withholding + CNSS/AMO/TFP) |
| Authority |
DGI (Direction Générale des Impôts, tax.gov.ma) + CNSS (cnss.ma) |
| Currency |
MAD (dirham marocain, DH) |
| Tax year |
2026 (Loi de Finances 2026) |
| IR scale |
Progressive 0% → 37%; 0% on first MAD 40,000/year (≈ MAD 3,333.33/month) |
| Frais professionnels |
35% if gross ≤ MAD 6,500/month (cap MAD 2,500/mo) — 25% if > MAD 6,500/month (cap MAD 2,916.67/mo) (verify monthly thresholds vs annual MAD 78,000) |
| Family deduction |
MAD 50/month per dependent, max MAD 300/month (6 dependents) |
| CNSS ceiling |
MAD 6,000/month gross for short-term + long-term branches |
| CNSS + AMO + TFP — employer |
≈ 21.09% total (verify) |
| CNSS + AMO — employee |
≈ 6.74% total (verify) |
| TFP |
1.60% employer, uncapped (taxe de formation professionnelle, collected by CNSS) |
| Declaration — CNSS |
Damancom (DNS / BDS), filed + paid by the 10th of the following month |
| Declaration — IR |
SIMPL-IR (DGI portal), withheld IR paid by DGI deadline (typically by the end of the following month) (verify exact date) |
| Quality tier |
Research-verified — pending sign-off by a Moroccan expert-comptable |
| Version |
1.0 |
Conservative defaults (apply when the user has not specified otherwise):
- Treat the worker as an employee (salarié) — and therefore subject to payroll —
whenever there is subordination (fixed hours, direction, integration into the
business). When in doubt, default to employee treatment, which is the safer
classification and avoids requalification penalties. See §6.
- Apply the 25% frais professionnels rate only when the employee's gross clearly
exceeds the threshold; otherwise apply 35%. Never exceed the monthly caps.
- Apply CNSS short/long-term branches on min(gross, MAD 6,000); apply AMO and
TFP on full uncapped gross.
- If a benefit-in-kind, bonus, or allowance may be CNSS-assiette or
IR-imposable, treat it as included unless a clear exemption is identified,
then flag it to verify.
- Round each employee's monthly IR to the dirham as the DGI does, and reconcile to
the annual scale at year-end.
- All figures below are 2026 values to be verified against the current CNSS
circular and the Loi de Finances 2026 before filing.
2. IR Salarial — Computation
IR salarial is computed monthly on the employee's revenu net imposable (RNI) —
the gross salary minus the deductible items — then the progressive scale is applied and
the déductions pour charges de famille are subtracted.
Step-by-step (monthly)
- Salaire brut global (SBG) = base salary + taxable allowances + benefits in kind
- Salaire brut imposable (SBI) = SBG − legally exempt elements (e.g. certain
reimbursements of professional expenses, exempt indemnities) (verify each item).
- Deduct, in order, from SBI:
- Frais professionnels (FP) — a standard professional-expense allowance:
35% of SBI if monthly gross ≤ MAD 6,500 (cap MAD 2,500/month), or
25% if monthly gross > MAD 6,500 (cap MAD 2,916.67/month).
(Verify: some sources express the rate change against an annual MAD 78,000 gross
threshold — confirm the exact monthly cut-off in force for 2026.)
- CNSS + AMO employee contributions (the part salariale — see §3) — deductible.
- Employee retirement / insurance (CIMR, mutuelle, life insurance) within legal
limits, if any (verify caps).
- The result is the revenu net imposable (RNI).
- Apply the monthly IR scale (below) and subtract the somme à déduire.
- Subtract déductions pour charges de famille: MAD 50/month per dependent
(non-working spouse + children under 27, or any age if disabled), capped at
MAD 300/month (6 dependents).
- The result is the IR net to withhold (retenue à la source).
IR scale — monthly (RNI, 2026)
| RNI / month (MAD) |
Rate |
Somme à déduire (MAD/month) |
| 0 – 3,333.33 |
0% |
0 |
| 3,333.34 – 5,000 |
10% |
333.33 |
| 5,000.01 – 6,666.67 |
20% |
833.33 |
| 6,666.68 – 8,333.33 |
30% |
1,500.00 |
| 8,333.34 – 15,000 |
34% |
1,833.33 |
| Over 15,000 |
37% |
2,283.33 |
IR scale — annual (RNI, 2026) — for reconciliation
| RNI / year (MAD) |
Rate |
Somme à déduire (MAD/year) |
| 0 – 40,000 |
0% |
0 |
| 40,001 – 60,000 |
10% |
4,000 |
| 60,001 – 80,000 |
20% |
10,000 |
| 80,001 – 100,000 |
30% |
18,000 |
| 100,001 – 180,000 |
34% |
22,000 |
| Over 180,000 |
37% |
27,400 |
Formula: IR brut = (RNI × rate) − somme à déduire, then
IR net = IR brut − charges de famille.
The 2026 scale is unchanged from the 2025 reform (which raised the exempt threshold
from MAD 30,000 to MAD 40,000 and cut the top marginal rate to 37%). (Verify no
further amendment in the Loi de Finances 2026.)
3. CNSS / AMO / TFP — Rates & Ceiling
CNSS contributions are split between employer (part patronale) and employee (part
salariale). Some branches are capped at a gross of MAD 6,000/month; others
apply to the full uncapped salary.
| Branch (FR / native) |
Employer |
Employee |
Base / ceiling |
| Allocations familiales (family allowances) |
6.40% |
— |
Full salary, no cap |
| Prestations sociales court terme (short-term: sickness, maternity) |
1.05% |
0.52% |
Capped at MAD 6,000/mo |
| Prestations sociales long terme (long-term: retirement, invalidity, survivors) |
7.93% |
3.96% |
Capped at MAD 6,000/mo |
| AMO (Assurance Maladie Obligatoire — health) |
4.11% |
2.26% |
Full salary, no cap |
| TFP — taxe de formation professionnelle |
1.60% |
— |
Full salary, no cap |
| Total |
≈ 21.09% |
≈ 6.74% |
— |
(Verify all rates against the current CNSS circular. The AMO employer 4.11% is
commonly reported as 2.26% AMO de base + 1.85% AMO Solidarité/Tadamoun — confirm the
split and whether the contributor's payroll software itemises them separately.)
Key mechanics
- The ceiling only bites on the two "prestations sociales" branches. For an
employee earning above MAD 6,000/month, the short- and long-term contributions
are frozen at the MAD 6,000 base, so the effective CNSS rate falls as salary
rises — but AMO and TFP keep growing because they are uncapped.
- Maximum capped employee CNSS (short + long term) = (0.52% + 3.96%) × 6,000 =
4.48% × 6,000 = MAD 268.80/month. (Verify.)
- AMO has no ceiling — it is 2.26% employee / 4.11% employer on the full gross.
- The employee never pays family allowances or TFP — those are employer-only.
- TFP is collected by the CNSS alongside the social contributions (it funds the
OFPPT vocational-training system) even though it is technically a tax, not a benefit.
- The employer remits both halves — the employer withholds the employee part from
net pay and adds its own part, paying the total to CNSS via Damancom.
4. Declarations & Calendar
A Moroccan employer runs two parallel monthly filings — one to CNSS, one to DGI.
CNSS — via Damancom
- Damancom is the CNSS télédéclaration portal (since 2025, access is via the
Mon e-ID national digital identity). Filing is mandatory online.
- The employer files the DNS — Déclaration Nominative des Salaires (nominative
salary declaration: each employee, days worked, salary) each month.
- CNSS issues the BDS — Bordereau de Déclaration des Salaires (the computed
contributions slip) around the 22nd of the month.
- Two modes: EFI (manual online entry, suited to very small employers) and
EDI (file upload from payroll software).
- Deadline: declaration and payment by the 10th of the following month
(e.g. March 2026 contributions are due by 10 April 2026).
- Late surcharge (since April 2025): 3% for the first month, then 0.5% per
additional month (verify current penalty regime).
IR salarial — via SIMPL-IR (DGI)
- The withheld IR is declared and paid on the DGI's SIMPL portal (Service des
Impôts en Ligne) under SIMPL-IR.
- Monthly payment of the retenue à la source is the default; quarterly payment
may apply to certain small employers (verify eligibility and the exact monthly
payment deadline — commonly by the end of the following month).
- Annual return: the employer files the déclaration des traitements et salaires
(annual recap of all salaries paid and IR withheld, historically model 9421 / now
filed via SIMPL) by end of February / 1 March of the following year (verify the
current form and date in force for the 2026 reporting cycle).
Registration
Before the first payroll, the employer must be affiliated with CNSS (numéro
d'affiliation) and have each employee immatriculé (numéro d'immatriculation CNSS),
and be registered with the DGI for IR salarial. (Verify the affiliation procedure
for an auto-entrepreneur / TNS who becomes an employer.)
5. Worked Examples (Payslips)
All figures are illustrative 2026 computations to verify before filing. Single
employee, no CIMR/mutuelle, dependents as stated.
Example A — SMIG-level employee, 2 dependents
- Salaire brut imposable (SBI): MAD 4,000/month. Dependents: 2.
- CNSS employee (capped base = min(4,000, 6,000) = 4,000):
short+long term = 4.48% × 4,000 = MAD 179.20.
- AMO employee (uncapped): 2.26% × 4,000 = MAD 90.40.
- Total employee social = 179.20 + 90.40 = MAD 269.60 (deductible for IR).
- Frais professionnels (gross ≤ 6,500 → 35%, cap 2,500): 35% × 4,000 = MAD
1,400 (under cap).
- RNI = 4,000 − 1,400 − 269.60 = MAD 2,330.40.
- RNI ≤ 3,333.33 → 0% bracket → IR brut = 0.
- IR net = MAD 0 (the family deduction does not create a refund).
- Employer CNSS+AMO+TFP ≈ : capped branches (1.05% + 7.93%) × 4,000 = 8.98% ×
4,000 = 359.20; family allowances 6.40% × 4,000 = 256.00; AMO 4.11% × 4,000 =
164.40; TFP 1.60% × 4,000 = 64.00 → employer total ≈ MAD 843.60.
- Net pay to employee = 4,000 − 269.60 − 0 = MAD 3,730.40.
Example B — Mid-level employee, 3 dependents
- SBI: MAD 8,000/month. Dependents: 3.
- CNSS employee — capped branches on 6,000: 4.48% × 6,000 = MAD 268.80.
- AMO employee (uncapped, on 8,000): 2.26% × 8,000 = MAD 180.80.
- Total employee social = 268.80 + 180.80 = MAD 449.60.
- Frais professionnels (gross > 6,500 → 25%, cap 2,916.67): 25% × 8,000 = 2,000
(under cap) = MAD 2,000.
- RNI = 8,000 − 2,000 − 449.60 = MAD 5,550.40.
- RNI in 5,000.01–6,666.67 → 20%, somme à déduire 833.33:
IR brut = (5,550.40 × 20%) − 833.33 = 1,110.08 − 833.33 = MAD 276.75.
- Charges de famille: 3 × 50 = MAD 150.
- IR net = 276.75 − 150 = MAD 126.75 (≈ MAD 127 rounded).
- Net pay = 8,000 − 449.60 − 127 = MAD 7,423.40.
Example C — Higher earner, 1 dependent (ceiling effect)
- SBI: MAD 18,000/month. Dependents: 1.
- CNSS employee — capped branches on 6,000: MAD 268.80.
- AMO employee (uncapped, on 18,000): 2.26% × 18,000 = MAD 406.80.
- Total employee social = 268.80 + 406.80 = MAD 675.60.
- Frais professionnels (25%, cap 2,916.67): 25% × 18,000 = 4,500 → capped at MAD
2,916.67.
- RNI = 18,000 − 2,916.67 − 675.60 = MAD 14,407.73.
- RNI in 8,333.34–15,000 → 34%, somme à déduire 1,833.33:
IR brut = (14,407.73 × 34%) − 1,833.33 = 4,898.63 − 1,833.33 = MAD 3,065.30.
- Charges de famille: 1 × 50 = MAD 50.
- IR net = 3,065.30 − 50 = MAD 3,015.30 (≈ MAD 3,015).
- Net pay = 18,000 − 675.60 − 3,015 = MAD 14,309.40.
- Note the ceiling effect: the capped CNSS stays at MAD 268.80 while AMO and the IR
keep climbing — the marginal cost of a raise here is mostly IR + uncapped AMO.
6. Tier 2 — Employee vs Independent, Bulletin de Paie, Edge Cases
Employee (salarié) vs independent (TNS / prestataire)
Payroll obligations apply only to employees. The distinction turns on
subordination juridique (legal subordination), not on the label of the contract:
| Indicator |
Points to employee |
Points to independent |
| Direction & control |
Employer sets hours, methods, place |
Worker organises own work |
| Integration |
Part of the business's organisation |
Provides a service from outside |
| Exclusivity / continuity |
Ongoing, exclusive |
Project-based, multiple clients |
| Tools & risk |
Employer provides tools, bears risk |
Worker bears own commercial risk |
| Remuneration |
Fixed monthly salary |
Invoices, facture, often with VAT |
A genuine independent (auto-entrepreneur, TNS, or company) invoices the contributor
and handles their own CNSS-TNS / AMO and IR — see ma-social-contributions and
ma-income-tax. Disguising an employee as an independent ("faux indépendant")
risks requalification, back-contributions, IR, and penalties. Default to
employee treatment when subordination is present.
Bulletin de paie — required contents
Each employee must receive a monthly bulletin de paie (payslip). It must show, at
minimum (verify against the Code du travail and current practice):
- Employer identity, CNSS affiliation number, ICE; employee identity and CNSS
immatriculation number.
- Pay period, days/hours worked, position.
- Salaire de base, allowances, overtime (heures supplémentaires), benefits in kind.
- Salaire brut global and salaire brut imposable.
- Each CNSS / AMO employee deduction line and the IR retenu.
- Net à payer (net pay) and payment method/date.
- The employer's contributions are often shown for transparency though they are not
deducted from the employee.
Payslips and payroll registers must be retained (the livre de paie / payroll
records) for the statutory period (verify retention duration).
Edge cases & flags
- Benefits in kind (avantages en nature) — housing, car, etc. — are generally both
CNSS-assiette and IR-imposable at their assessed value (verify valuation rules).
- Indemnités — some indemnities (de déplacement, de panier, de représentation) are
exempt within limits; excess is taxable. (Verify each ceiling.)
- Overtime (heures supplémentaires) — taxable and CNSS-able; computed on the legal
premium rates.
- 13th month / primes — taxable; spread or taxed in the month paid per DGI rules
(verify).
- CIMR / mutuelle — optional complementary pension/health; employee contributions
may be IR-deductible within limits (verify).
- Apprentices / stagiaires — special regimes may reduce or exempt contributions
(verify eligibility).
- First hire by a TNS/auto-entrepreneur — confirm whether the contributor's
own régime restricts hiring (an auto-entrepreneur's eligibility can be affected by
employing staff) — flag and verify before onboarding.
7. Reference + Test Suite
Reference checklist (each month)
- Build each employee's salaire brut imposable.
- Compute employee CNSS on min(gross, 6,000) + AMO on full gross.
- Deduct frais professionnels (35%/25%, respect caps) and employee social to
get RNI.
- Apply the monthly IR scale, subtract charges de famille → IR net.
- Compute employer CNSS + AMO + TFP (≈ 21.09%).
- Produce the bulletin de paie; confirm net à payer.
- File the DNS on Damancom and pay CNSS by the 10th.
- Pay the IR retenu via SIMPL-IR by the DGI deadline.
- Year-end: file the déclaration annuelle des traitements et salaires and
reconcile to the annual IR scale.
Test suite (self-checks before delivering a result)
Sources (to re-verify before filing)
- DGI — tax.gov.ma (Code Général des Impôts; IR salarial; SIMPL-IR).
- CNSS — cnss.ma (contribution rates, ceiling, Damancom, DNS/BDS, penalties).
- Loi de Finances 2026 (Morocco) — confirms IR scale continuity.
- PwC Worldwide Tax Summaries — Morocco (individual taxes; social security).
- Moroccan payroll practitioners (cross-checked: Upsilon Consulting, ClicPaie,
Humantal, Sahl Compta) — used for corroboration only; primary sources govern.
PROHIBITIONS
- Do NOT file or pay on the user's behalf, or submit anything to Damancom, SIMPL,
CNSS, or the DGI. Produce computations and draft payslips only.
- Do NOT present any rate, ceiling, bracket, or deadline as final without the
"verify" caveat — these are research-verified, not officially signed off.
- Do NOT advise classifying a genuine employee as an independent ("faux
indépendant") to avoid CNSS/IR. When subordination exists, the worker is an employee.
- Do NOT omit the AMO uncapped treatment or apply the MAD 6,000 ceiling to AMO
or TFP.
- Do NOT handle company corporate payroll for IS-liable entities, multi-CNES /
expatriate regimes, conventions of non-double taxation, severance/indemnité de
licenciement taxation, CIMR optimisation, or labour-law disputes — these are out of
scope; refer to a Moroccan expert-comptable and, for labour law, a specialist.
- Do NOT advise on the contributor's own TNS/auto-entrepreneur social cover
here — route to
ma-social-contributions.
- Do NOT proceed if the contributor's own régime may prohibit or restrict hiring —
flag and stop until verified.
Disclaimer
This skill is research-verified against public CNSS, DGI, Loi de Finances 2026, and
reputable Moroccan payroll-practitioner sources as of May 2026, but it has not yet
been signed off by a Moroccan expert-comptable. Rates, ceilings, brackets, forms, and
deadlines change and must be independently verified against the current CNSS
circular and DGI guidance before any payroll is run, declared, or paid. It is general
information, not tax, accounting, or legal advice, and creates no engagement. A
qualified Moroccan expert-comptable (and, for employment matters, a labour-law
adviser) must review every payroll before filing. Provided by openaccountants.com
under its open-source tax-skills project.
Source: OpenAccountants — open tax Guides for AI, reviewed by named CPAs/CAs/EAs. Quality: source-cited draft. For always-current figures and named-accountant backing, connect the OpenAccountants MCP server (openaccountants-mcp).
1---2name: ma-payroll3description: > Use this skill whenever asked about Morocco payroll for a self-employed person who HIRES employees — computing IR salarial (salary income tax) withholding, CNSS employer and employee contributions, AMO health insurance, the taxe de formation professionnelle (TFP), the bulletin de paie (payslip), and the monthly declarations via Damancom (CNSS) and SIMPL-IR (DGI). Trigger on phrases like "Morocco payroll", "paie Maroc", "IR salarial", "CNSS employer", "bulletin de paie", "calcul salaire net Maroc", "cotisation patronale CNSS", "déclaration Damancom", "retenue à la source salaire Maroc", "AMO Maroc employeur", "taxe de formation professionnelle", "كشف الراتب", "أجور المغرب". Covers the 2026 IR salarial scale with salary-specific deductions (frais professionnels, déductions pour charges de famille), the CNSS branch rates and the MAD 6,000/month ceiling, AMO and TFP (uncapped), the declaration calendar, worked payslip examples, and the employee-vs-independent (salarié vs TNS) distinction.4license: AGPL-3.0-or-later (code) / OpenAccountants Guide License v1.0 (c5---67# Morocco — Payroll for a Self-Employed Person Who Hires Employees (IR salarial / CNSS / AMO / TFP)89> **General reference only.** This skill is general tax/accounting reference material for AI-assisted workflows. It has not been reviewed for any specific person's facts, documents, elections, deadlines, residency, filing status, or local procedures. Do not rely on it to file, pay, amend, or take a tax position without review by a qualified professional in the relevant jurisdiction.1011A self-employed person in Morocco — whether an **auto-entrepreneur**, a registered12**travailleur non-salarié (TNS)**, or the manager of a small structure — who **hires13even one employee** becomes an **employer (employeur)** with three monthly payroll14obligations:15161. **IR salarial** — the **impôt sur le revenu** on salaries, withheld at source17 (**retenue à la source**) and paid to the **Direction Générale des Impôts (DGI)**.182. **CNSS contributions** — social-security contributions to the **Caisse Nationale de19 Sécurité Sociale**, split between **employer (part patronale)** and **employee20 (part salariale)**, including **AMO** (Assurance Maladie Obligatoire) and the21 **taxe de formation professionnelle (TFP)**.223. **The bulletin de paie** — a compliant payslip for each employee each month.2324This is **fundamentally different** from the contributor's *own* self-employed cover25(TNS / auto-entrepreneur AMO and retraite — see `ma-social-contributions`). As an26employer you compute **percentages on each employee's real salary** with a **ceiling**,27not a forfaitaire SMIG-indexed base.2829This skill replies in the user's language. Moroccan users mix English, French, and30Darija — keep the native terms (IR salarial, CNSS, AMO, TFP, SMIG, bulletin de paie,31Damancom, SIMPL) and explain them in the user's chosen language.3233---3435## 1. Quick Reference3637| Field | Value |38|---|---|39| Country | Morocco (MA) |40| Topic | Payroll for an employer (IR salarial withholding + CNSS/AMO/TFP) |41| Authority | **DGI** (Direction Générale des Impôts, tax.gov.ma) **+ CNSS** (cnss.ma) |42| Currency | **MAD** (dirham marocain, DH) |43| Tax year | 2026 (Loi de Finances 2026) |44| IR scale | Progressive **0% → 37%**; 0% on first **MAD 40,000/year** (≈ MAD 3,333.33/month) |45| Frais professionnels | **35%** if gross ≤ MAD 6,500/month (cap MAD 2,500/mo) — **25%** if > MAD 6,500/month (cap MAD 2,916.67/mo) *(verify monthly thresholds vs annual MAD 78,000)* |46| Family deduction | **MAD 50/month per dependent**, max **MAD 300/month** (6 dependents) |47| CNSS ceiling | **MAD 6,000/month** gross for short-term + long-term branches |48| CNSS + AMO + TFP — employer | **≈ 21.09%** total *(verify)* |49| CNSS + AMO — employee | **≈ 6.74%** total *(verify)* |50| TFP | **1.60% employer**, uncapped (taxe de formation professionnelle, collected by CNSS) |51| Declaration — CNSS | **Damancom** (DNS / BDS), filed + paid by the **10th** of the following month |52| Declaration — IR | **SIMPL-IR** (DGI portal), withheld IR paid by DGI deadline (typically by the end of the following month) *(verify exact date)* |53| Quality tier | **Research-verified — pending sign-off by a Moroccan expert-comptable** |54| Version | 1.0 |5556**Conservative defaults** (apply when the user has not specified otherwise):57- Treat the worker as an **employee (salarié)** — and therefore subject to payroll —58 whenever there is **subordination** (fixed hours, direction, integration into the59 business). When in doubt, default to **employee** treatment, which is the safer60 classification and avoids requalification penalties. See §6.61- Apply the **25% frais professionnels rate** only when the employee's gross clearly62 exceeds the threshold; otherwise apply **35%**. Never exceed the monthly caps.63- Apply CNSS short/long-term branches on **min(gross, MAD 6,000)**; apply **AMO and64 TFP on full uncapped gross**.65- If a benefit-in-kind, bonus, or allowance may be **CNSS-assiette** or66 **IR-imposable**, treat it as **included** unless a clear exemption is identified,67 then flag it to **verify**.68- Round each employee's monthly IR to the dirham as the DGI does, and reconcile to69 the annual scale at year-end.70- All figures below are **2026** values to be **verified** against the current CNSS71 circular and the Loi de Finances 2026 before filing.7273---7475## 2. IR Salarial — Computation7677IR salarial is computed **monthly** on the employee's **revenu net imposable (RNI)** —78the gross salary minus the deductible items — then the progressive scale is applied and79the **déductions pour charges de famille** are subtracted.8081### Step-by-step (monthly)82831. **Salaire brut global (SBG)** = base salary + taxable allowances + benefits in kind84 + taxable bonuses.852. **Salaire brut imposable (SBI)** = SBG − legally exempt elements (e.g. certain86 reimbursements of professional expenses, exempt indemnities) *(verify each item)*.873. Deduct, in order, from SBI:88 - **Frais professionnels (FP)** — a standard professional-expense allowance:89 **35%** of SBI if monthly gross ≤ **MAD 6,500** (cap **MAD 2,500/month**), or90 **25%** if monthly gross > **MAD 6,500** (cap **MAD 2,916.67/month**).91 *(Verify: some sources express the rate change against an annual MAD 78,000 gross92 threshold — confirm the exact monthly cut-off in force for 2026.)*93 - **CNSS + AMO employee contributions** (the part salariale — see §3) — deductible.94 - **Employee retirement / insurance** (CIMR, mutuelle, life insurance) within legal95 limits, if any *(verify caps)*.964. The result is the **revenu net imposable (RNI)**.975. Apply the **monthly IR scale** (below) and subtract the **somme à déduire**.986. Subtract **déductions pour charges de famille**: **MAD 50/month per dependent**99 (non-working spouse + children under 27, or any age if disabled), capped at100 **MAD 300/month** (6 dependents).1017. The result is the **IR net to withhold** (retenue à la source).102103### IR scale — monthly (RNI, 2026)104105| RNI / month (MAD) | Rate | Somme à déduire (MAD/month) |106|---|---|---|107| 0 – 3,333.33 | 0% | 0 |108| 3,333.34 – 5,000 | 10% | 333.33 |109| 5,000.01 – 6,666.67 | 20% | 833.33 |110| 6,666.68 – 8,333.33 | 30% | 1,500.00 |111| 8,333.34 – 15,000 | 34% | 1,833.33 |112| Over 15,000 | 37% | 2,283.33 |113114### IR scale — annual (RNI, 2026) — for reconciliation115116| RNI / year (MAD) | Rate | Somme à déduire (MAD/year) |117|---|---|---|118| 0 – 40,000 | 0% | 0 |119| 40,001 – 60,000 | 10% | 4,000 |120| 60,001 – 80,000 | 20% | 10,000 |121| 80,001 – 100,000 | 30% | 18,000 |122| 100,001 – 180,000 | 34% | 22,000 |123| Over 180,000 | 37% | 27,400 |124125**Formula:** `IR brut = (RNI × rate) − somme à déduire`, then126`IR net = IR brut − charges de famille`.127128The 2026 scale is **unchanged from the 2025 reform** (which raised the exempt threshold129from MAD 30,000 to MAD 40,000 and cut the top marginal rate to 37%). *(Verify no130further amendment in the Loi de Finances 2026.)*131132---133134## 3. CNSS / AMO / TFP — Rates & Ceiling135136CNSS contributions are split between **employer (part patronale)** and **employee (part137salariale)**. Some branches are **capped** at a gross of **MAD 6,000/month**; others138apply to the **full uncapped salary**.139140| Branch (FR / native) | Employer | Employee | Base / ceiling |141|---|---|---|---|142| **Allocations familiales** (family allowances) | 6.40% | — | Full salary, **no cap** |143| **Prestations sociales court terme** (short-term: sickness, maternity) | 1.05% | 0.52% | Capped at **MAD 6,000/mo** |144| **Prestations sociales long terme** (long-term: retirement, invalidity, survivors) | 7.93% | 3.96% | Capped at **MAD 6,000/mo** |145| **AMO** (Assurance Maladie Obligatoire — health) | 4.11% | 2.26% | Full salary, **no cap** |146| **TFP** — taxe de formation professionnelle | 1.60% | — | Full salary, **no cap** |147| **Total** | **≈ 21.09%** | **≈ 6.74%** | — |148149*(Verify all rates against the current CNSS circular. The AMO employer 4.11% is150commonly reported as 2.26% AMO de base + 1.85% AMO Solidarité/Tadamoun — confirm the151split and whether the contributor's payroll software itemises them separately.)*152153### Key mechanics154155- **The ceiling only bites on the two "prestations sociales" branches.** For an156 employee earning **above MAD 6,000/month**, the short- and long-term contributions157 are frozen at the MAD 6,000 base, so the **effective CNSS rate falls** as salary158 rises — but **AMO and TFP keep growing** because they are uncapped.159- **Maximum capped employee CNSS** (short + long term) = (0.52% + 3.96%) × 6,000 =160 **4.48% × 6,000 = MAD 268.80/month**. *(Verify.)*161- **AMO has no ceiling** — it is **2.26% employee / 4.11% employer** on the full gross.162- **The employee never pays family allowances or TFP** — those are **employer-only**.163- **TFP is collected by the CNSS** alongside the social contributions (it funds the164 OFPPT vocational-training system) even though it is technically a tax, not a benefit.165- **The employer remits both halves** — the employer withholds the employee part from166 net pay and adds its own part, paying the total to CNSS via Damancom.167168---169170## 4. Declarations & Calendar171172A Moroccan employer runs **two parallel monthly filings** — one to CNSS, one to DGI.173174### CNSS — via Damancom175176- **Damancom** is the CNSS télédéclaration portal (since 2025, access is via the177 **Mon e-ID** national digital identity). Filing is **mandatory online**.178- The employer files the **DNS — Déclaration Nominative des Salaires** (nominative179 salary declaration: each employee, days worked, salary) each month.180- CNSS issues the **BDS — Bordereau de Déclaration des Salaires** (the computed181 contributions slip) around the **22nd** of the month.182- **Two modes:** **EFI** (manual online entry, suited to very small employers) and183 **EDI** (file upload from payroll software).184- **Deadline:** declaration **and** payment by the **10th of the following month**185 (e.g. March 2026 contributions are due by **10 April 2026**).186- **Late surcharge** (since April 2025): **3% for the first month**, then **0.5% per187 additional month** *(verify current penalty regime)*.188189### IR salarial — via SIMPL-IR (DGI)190191- The withheld IR is declared and paid on the DGI's **SIMPL** portal (Service des192 Impôts en Ligne) under **SIMPL-IR**.193- **Monthly payment** of the retenue à la source is the default; **quarterly** payment194 may apply to certain small employers *(verify eligibility and the exact monthly195 payment deadline — commonly by the end of the following month)*.196- **Annual return:** the employer files the **déclaration des traitements et salaires**197 (annual recap of all salaries paid and IR withheld, historically model 9421 / now198 filed via SIMPL) by **end of February / 1 March** of the following year *(verify the199 current form and date in force for the 2026 reporting cycle)*.200201### Registration202203Before the first payroll, the employer must be **affiliated with CNSS** (numéro204d'affiliation) and have each employee **immatriculé** (numéro d'immatriculation CNSS),205and be registered with the **DGI** for IR salarial. *(Verify the affiliation procedure206for an auto-entrepreneur / TNS who becomes an employer.)*207208---209210## 5. Worked Examples (Payslips)211212All figures are **illustrative 2026** computations to **verify** before filing. Single213employee, no CIMR/mutuelle, dependents as stated.214215### Example A — SMIG-level employee, 2 dependents216217- **Salaire brut imposable (SBI):** MAD 4,000/month. Dependents: 2.218- **CNSS employee** (capped base = min(4,000, 6,000) = 4,000):219 short+long term = 4.48% × 4,000 = **MAD 179.20**.220- **AMO employee** (uncapped): 2.26% × 4,000 = **MAD 90.40**.221- **Total employee social** = 179.20 + 90.40 = **MAD 269.60** (deductible for IR).222- **Frais professionnels** (gross ≤ 6,500 → 35%, cap 2,500): 35% × 4,000 = **MAD223 1,400** (under cap).224- **RNI** = 4,000 − 1,400 − 269.60 = **MAD 2,330.40**.225- RNI ≤ 3,333.33 → **0% bracket → IR brut = 0**.226- **IR net = MAD 0** (the family deduction does not create a refund).227- **Employer CNSS+AMO+TFP** ≈ : capped branches (1.05% + 7.93%) × 4,000 = 8.98% ×228 4,000 = 359.20; family allowances 6.40% × 4,000 = 256.00; AMO 4.11% × 4,000 =229 164.40; TFP 1.60% × 4,000 = 64.00 → **employer total ≈ MAD 843.60**.230- **Net pay to employee** = 4,000 − 269.60 − 0 = **MAD 3,730.40**.231232### Example B — Mid-level employee, 3 dependents233234- **SBI:** MAD 8,000/month. Dependents: 3.235- **CNSS employee** — capped branches on **6,000**: 4.48% × 6,000 = **MAD 268.80**.236- **AMO employee** (uncapped, on 8,000): 2.26% × 8,000 = **MAD 180.80**.237- **Total employee social** = 268.80 + 180.80 = **MAD 449.60**.238- **Frais professionnels** (gross > 6,500 → 25%, cap 2,916.67): 25% × 8,000 = 2,000239 (under cap) = **MAD 2,000**.240- **RNI** = 8,000 − 2,000 − 449.60 = **MAD 5,550.40**.241- RNI in 5,000.01–6,666.67 → **20%, somme à déduire 833.33**:242 IR brut = (5,550.40 × 20%) − 833.33 = 1,110.08 − 833.33 = **MAD 276.75**.243- **Charges de famille:** 3 × 50 = **MAD 150**.244- **IR net** = 276.75 − 150 = **MAD 126.75** (≈ **MAD 127** rounded).245- **Net pay** = 8,000 − 449.60 − 127 = **MAD 7,423.40**.246247### Example C — Higher earner, 1 dependent (ceiling effect)248249- **SBI:** MAD 18,000/month. Dependents: 1.250- **CNSS employee** — capped branches on **6,000**: **MAD 268.80**.251- **AMO employee** (uncapped, on 18,000): 2.26% × 18,000 = **MAD 406.80**.252- **Total employee social** = 268.80 + 406.80 = **MAD 675.60**.253- **Frais professionnels** (25%, cap 2,916.67): 25% × 18,000 = 4,500 → **capped at MAD254 2,916.67**.255- **RNI** = 18,000 − 2,916.67 − 675.60 = **MAD 14,407.73**.256- RNI in 8,333.34–15,000 → **34%, somme à déduire 1,833.33**:257 IR brut = (14,407.73 × 34%) − 1,833.33 = 4,898.63 − 1,833.33 = **MAD 3,065.30**.258- **Charges de famille:** 1 × 50 = **MAD 50**.259- **IR net** = 3,065.30 − 50 = **MAD 3,015.30** (≈ **MAD 3,015**).260- **Net pay** = 18,000 − 675.60 − 3,015 = **MAD 14,309.40**.261- Note the ceiling effect: the capped CNSS stays at MAD 268.80 while AMO and the IR262 keep climbing — the marginal cost of a raise here is mostly **IR + uncapped AMO**.263264---265266## 6. Tier 2 — Employee vs Independent, Bulletin de Paie, Edge Cases267268### Employee (salarié) vs independent (TNS / prestataire)269270Payroll obligations apply **only to employees**. The distinction turns on271**subordination juridique** (legal subordination), not on the label of the contract:272273| Indicator | Points to **employee** | Points to **independent** |274|---|---|---|275| Direction & control | Employer sets hours, methods, place | Worker organises own work |276| Integration | Part of the business's organisation | Provides a service from outside |277| Exclusivity / continuity | Ongoing, exclusive | Project-based, multiple clients |278| Tools & risk | Employer provides tools, bears risk | Worker bears own commercial risk |279| Remuneration | Fixed monthly salary | Invoices, facture, often with VAT |280281A genuine **independent** (auto-entrepreneur, TNS, or company) invoices the contributor282and handles **their own** CNSS-TNS / AMO and IR — see `ma-social-contributions` and283`ma-income-tax`. **Disguising an employee as an independent** ("faux indépendant")284risks **requalification**, back-contributions, IR, and penalties. **Default to285employee treatment when subordination is present.**286287### Bulletin de paie — required contents288289Each employee must receive a monthly **bulletin de paie** (payslip). It must show, at290minimum *(verify against the Code du travail and current practice)*:291292- Employer identity, **CNSS affiliation number**, ICE; employee identity and **CNSS293 immatriculation number**.294- Pay period, days/hours worked, position.295- **Salaire de base**, allowances, overtime (heures supplémentaires), benefits in kind.296- **Salaire brut global** and **salaire brut imposable**.297- Each **CNSS / AMO employee deduction** line and the **IR retenu**.298- **Net à payer** (net pay) and payment method/date.299- The **employer's contributions** are often shown for transparency though they are not300 deducted from the employee.301302Payslips and payroll registers must be **retained** (the **livre de paie** / payroll303records) for the statutory period *(verify retention duration)*.304305### Edge cases & flags306307- **Benefits in kind (avantages en nature)** — housing, car, etc. — are generally both308 **CNSS-assiette and IR-imposable** at their assessed value *(verify valuation rules)*.309- **Indemnités** — some indemnities (de déplacement, de panier, de représentation) are310 **exempt within limits**; excess is taxable. *(Verify each ceiling.)*311- **Overtime (heures supplémentaires)** — taxable and CNSS-able; computed on the legal312 premium rates.313- **13th month / primes** — taxable; spread or taxed in the month paid per DGI rules314 *(verify)*.315- **CIMR / mutuelle** — optional complementary pension/health; employee contributions316 may be IR-deductible within limits *(verify)*.317- **Apprentices / stagiaires** — special regimes may reduce or exempt contributions318 *(verify eligibility)*.319- **First hire by a TNS/auto-entrepreneur** — confirm whether the contributor's320 own régime restricts hiring (an auto-entrepreneur's eligibility can be affected by321 employing staff) — **flag and verify** before onboarding.322323---324325## 7. Reference + Test Suite326327### Reference checklist (each month)3283291. Build each employee's **salaire brut imposable**.3302. Compute **employee CNSS** on min(gross, 6,000) + **AMO** on full gross.3313. Deduct **frais professionnels** (35%/25%, respect caps) and **employee social** to332 get **RNI**.3334. Apply the **monthly IR scale**, subtract **charges de famille** → **IR net**.3345. Compute **employer CNSS + AMO + TFP** (≈ 21.09%).3356. Produce the **bulletin de paie**; confirm **net à payer**.3367. File the **DNS on Damancom** and pay CNSS by the **10th**.3378. Pay the **IR retenu via SIMPL-IR** by the DGI deadline.3389. Year-end: file the **déclaration annuelle des traitements et salaires** and339 reconcile to the **annual IR scale**.340341### Test suite (self-checks before delivering a result)342343- [ ] Did I apply the **MAD 6,000 ceiling** to short/long-term CNSS only, and **AMO +344 TFP on full gross**? (Capped CNSS employee max = MAD 268.80.)345- [ ] Did I use the correct **frais professionnels** rate (35% vs 25%) and **cap**?346- [ ] Did I deduct **employee CNSS/AMO** before applying the IR scale?347- [ ] Did I apply the right **monthly bracket** and **somme à déduire**, then subtract348 **charges de famille** (MAD 50 × dependents, max 300)?349- [ ] Did I keep **family allowances (6.40%) and TFP (1.60%) employer-only**?350- [ ] Did I confirm the worker is an **employee** (subordination) and not a disguised351 independent?352- [ ] Did I flag every **benefit-in-kind / indemnity / bonus** for IR + CNSS treatment?353- [ ] Did I mark all rates and dates **"verify"** against the current CNSS circular,354 SIMPL/DGI guidance, and the Loi de Finances 2026?355356### Sources (to re-verify before filing)357358- **DGI** — tax.gov.ma (Code Général des Impôts; IR salarial; SIMPL-IR).359- **CNSS** — cnss.ma (contribution rates, ceiling, Damancom, DNS/BDS, penalties).360- **Loi de Finances 2026** (Morocco) — confirms IR scale continuity.361- **PwC Worldwide Tax Summaries — Morocco** (individual taxes; social security).362- Moroccan payroll practitioners (cross-checked: Upsilon Consulting, ClicPaie,363 Humantal, Sahl Compta) — used for corroboration only; primary sources govern.364365---366367## PROHIBITIONS368369- **Do NOT** file or pay on the user's behalf, or submit anything to Damancom, SIMPL,370 CNSS, or the DGI. Produce computations and draft payslips only.371- **Do NOT** present any rate, ceiling, bracket, or deadline as final without the372 **"verify"** caveat — these are research-verified, not officially signed off.373- **Do NOT** advise classifying a genuine employee as an independent ("faux374 indépendant") to avoid CNSS/IR. When subordination exists, the worker is an employee.375- **Do NOT** omit the **AMO uncapped** treatment or apply the MAD 6,000 ceiling to AMO376 or TFP.377- **Do NOT** handle **company corporate payroll for IS-liable entities, multi-CNES /378 expatriate regimes, conventions of non-double taxation, severance/indemnité de379 licenciement taxation, CIMR optimisation, or labour-law disputes** — these are out of380 scope; refer to a Moroccan **expert-comptable** and, for labour law, a specialist.381- **Do NOT** advise on the contributor's **own** TNS/auto-entrepreneur social cover382 here — route to `ma-social-contributions`.383- **Do NOT** proceed if the contributor's own régime may prohibit or restrict hiring —384 flag and stop until verified.385386## Disclaimer387388This skill is **research-verified** against public CNSS, DGI, Loi de Finances 2026, and389reputable Moroccan payroll-practitioner sources as of **May 2026**, but it has **not yet390been signed off by a Moroccan expert-comptable**. Rates, ceilings, brackets, forms, and391deadlines change and must be **independently verified** against the current CNSS392circular and DGI guidance before any payroll is run, declared, or paid. It is general393information, **not** tax, accounting, or legal advice, and creates no engagement. A394qualified Moroccan **expert-comptable** (and, for employment matters, a labour-law395adviser) must review every payroll before filing. Provided by **openaccountants.com**396under its open-source tax-skills project.397398---399400_Source: [OpenAccountants](https://openaccountants.com/skills/ma-payroll) — open tax Guides for AI, reviewed by named CPAs/CAs/EAs. Quality: **source-cited draft**. For always-current figures and named-accountant backing, connect the OpenAccountants MCP server (`openaccountants-mcp`)._